1. ITV Report

UKIP targets East of England in 2014 Euro election

UKIP won 20% of the vote in the East of England in the last European Election in 2009. Photo: Nick Ansell/PA Wire/Press Association Images

UKIP has named its list of candidates standing in the 2014 European Elections in the East of England.

At the top of the list of seven candidates is Patrick O'Flynn who is currently the Chief Political Correspondent at the Daily Express.

The current UKIP MEP for the East of England Stuart Agnew is second on the list with the head of the party's Policy Unit, Tim Aker third.

The top three candidates for UKIP in the East of England are Patrick O'Flynn, Stuart Agnew and Tim Aker Credit: UKIP

Patrick O'Flynn was born and raised in Cambridge and went to university there. Stuart Agnew is a Norfolk farmer who has been a Member of the European Parliament since 2009. Tim Aker is from Essex.

UKIP came second in the East of England in the 2009 European Election with 20% of the vote. Under the proportional representation system, that was enough to net them two of the seven seats in the region. The Conservatives won three seats with the other two being allocated to Labour and the Liberal Democrats.

Although UKIP won two seats, their lead candidate, David Campbell Bannerman defected to the Conservatives in 2011.

UKIP leader Nigel Farage has said the East of England is a target area for his party. Credit: Dave Thompson/PA Wire

The UKIP leader Nigel Farage has said that the East of England is fertile territory for his party.

In the county council elections in May in this region, UKIP won 48 councils seats, up from just three.

“UKIP is putting forward exceptionally high calibre candidates for the 2014 European Elections, which we are hoping to win. The plan now is to turn the elections in May into a referendum on our EU membership and cause an earthquake in British politics."

– Nigel Farage, UKIP leader

This is the full list of UKIP candidates in the East of England in the order they would be elected depending on the share of the vote:

  • Patrick O'Flynn
  • Stuart Agnew MEP
  • Tim Aker
  • Michael Heaver
  • Andrew Smith
  • Mick McGough
  • Andrew Monk

More on this story