Special roles for East Anglian MPs in new government

George Freeman MP and Mark Francois MP have been appointed to special roles in the new government.

Two MPs from Norfolk and Essex have been given special advisory roles in Theresa May's government reshuffle.

The Mid Norfolk MP George Freeman has become the Chair of the Prime Minister's Policy Board. Mr Freeman had been the Life Sciences minister active in promoting the science and technology aspects on the East Anglian economy.

The MP for Wickford & Rayleigh in Essex, Mark Francois, is to lead a review into the use of reserve forces in the British Army. He had been a Minister in the Department for Communities and Local Government.

A number of other MPs from the Anglia region have been given new jobs in the new government.

  • Rutland & Melton MP Sir Alan Duncan returns to government as a Foreign Office minister

  • Harlow MP Robert Halfon becomes an Education minister

  • Milton Keynes North MP Mark Lancaster is appointed a junior minister in the Ministry of Defence

  • Northampton North MP Michael Ellis, who was Theresa May's Private Parliamentary Secretary, becomes Deputy Leader of the House of Commons

  • Suffolk Coastal MP Therese Coffey, who was Deputy Leader of the House, is now a junior minister at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

A number of MPs from the Anglia region have been appointed to the Whips Office: Stephen Barclay (NE Cambs), Jackie Doyle-Price (Thurrock) and Chris Heaton-Harris (Daventry)