Local Elections 2017: Essex

There are elections for 75 new councillors on Essex County Council.

The Conservatives have quadrupled their majority on Essex County Council while UKIP has lost all its seats.

Labour and the Liberal Democrats both lost seats.

There are elections for 75 new councillors on Essex County Council.

County Council elections are held every four years and in the last election in 2013, the Conservatives saw their overall majority reduced from 45 to just 9.

Four years ago, UKIP gained nine seats in Essex and took a 27% share of the vote - the highest of any of the county councils in the Anglia region.

The Conservative have increased their majority on Essex County Council.

The Conservatives have had a working majority on Essex County Council since 1997 but no other party has controlled the council since local government re-organisation in 1973.

There are 70 electoral divisions in Essex with five divisions represented by two councillors.

Any one party needs 38 seats to have a working majority in Essex meaning they can out-vote all the party parties put together.

Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock are not part of the Essex Count Council area and do not have elections in 2017.

The Conservative made 14 net gains in Essex while Labour, the Liberal Democrats and UKIP all lost seats. Credit: Kate Prout / ITV News Anglia

Your new councillors on Essex County Council

The results will appear here as they are declared

  • Abbey - Lee Scordis (Lab gain from Lib Dem)

  • Basildon Westley Heights - Kerry Smith (Ind hold / UKIP in 2013)

  • Billericay & Burstead - Anthony Hedley (Con hold)

  • Bocking - Stephen Canning (Con gain from UKIP)

  • Braintree Eastern - Robert Mitchell (Con hold)

  • Braintree Town - Jean Schmitt (Con hold)

  • Brentwood Hutton - Louise McKinlay (Con hold)

  • Brentwood North - Barry Aspinell (Lib Dem hold)

  • Brentwood Rural - Lesley Wagland (Con hold)

  • Brentwood South - David Kendall (Lib Dem hold)

  • Brightlingsea - Alan Goggin (Con gain from UKIP)

  • Broomfield & Writtle - John Aldridge (Con hold)

  • Buckhurst Hill & Loughton South - Valerie Metcalfe (Con hold)

  • Canvey Island East - Dave Blackwell (Ind hold)

  • Canvey Island West - Peter May (Ind gain)

  • Chelmer - John Spence (Con hold)

  • Chelmsford Central - Dick Madden (Con hold)

  • Chelmsford North - Stephen Robinson (Lib Dem hold)

  • Chelmsford West - Jude Deakin (Lib Dem hold)

  • Chigwell & Loughton Broadway - Gagan Mohindra (Con hold)

  • Clacton East - Colin Sergeant (Ind hold)

  • Clacton North - Andy Wood (Con hold)

  • Clacton West - Paul Honeywood (Con hold)

  • Constable - Anne Brown (Con hold)

  • Drury - Sue Lissimore (Con hold)

  • Dunmow - Susan Barker (Con hold)

  • Epping & Theydon Bois - Christopher Whitbread (Con gain from Lib Dem)

  • Frinton & Walton - Mark Platt (Con hold)

  • Great Baddow - Jenny Chandler (Con hold)

  • Hadleigh - Jill Reeves (Con hold)

  • Halstead - Jo Beavis (Con hold)

  • Harlow North - Michael Garnett (Con gain from Lab)

  • Harlow South East - Eddie Johnson (Con hold)

  • Harlow West - Michael Hardware and Clive Souter (Con gain from Lab)

  • Harwich - Ivan Henderson (Lab hold)

  • Hedingham - David Finch (Con hold)

  • Heybridge & Tollesbury - Mark Durham (Con hold)

  • Laindon Park & Fryerns - Jeff Henry and Allan Davies (Con gain and Lab gain)

  • Loughton Central - Chris Pond (Ind hold)

  • Maldon - Penny Channer (Con hold)

  • Maypole - Dave Harris (Lab hold)

  • Mersea & Tiptree - John Jowers (Con hold)

  • Mile End & Highwoods - Anne Turrell (Lib Dem hold)

  • North Weald & Nazeing - Anthony Jackson (Con hold)

  • Ongar & Rural - Maggie McEwen (Con hold)

  • Parsons Heath - John Baker (Lib Dem hold)

  • Pitsea - Stephen Hillier and Patricia Reid (Con gain and Lab hold)

  • Rayleigh North - Malcolm Maddocks (Con hold)

  • Rayleigh South - June Lumley (Con gain)

  • Rochford North - Terry Cutmore (Con hold)

  • Rochford South - Mike Steptoe (Con hold)

  • Rochford West - Carole Weston (Con gain from Green)

  • Saffron Walden - John Moran (Con gain from Ind)

  • South Benfleet - Andrew Sheldon (Con gain from UKIP)

  • South Woodham Ferrers - Bob Massey (Con hold)

  • Southminster - Ron Pratt (Con hold)

  • Springfield - Mike Mackrory (Lib Dem hold)

  • Stansted - Ray Gooding (Con hold)

  • Stanway & Pyefleet - Kevin Bentley (Con hold)

  • Stock - Ian Grundy (Con hold)

  • Tendring Rural East - Andy Erskine (Con gain from UKIP)

  • Tendring Rural West - Carlo Guglielmi (Con hold)

  • Thaxted - Simon Walsh (Con hold)

  • Three Fields with Great Notley - Graham Butland (Con hold)

  • Thundersley - Beverley Egan (Con gain from UKIP)

  • Waltham Abbey - Ricki Gadsby (Con hold)

  • Wickford Crouch Tony Ball and Malcolm Buckley (Con hold)

  • Witham Northern - James Abbott (Green hold)

  • Witham Southern - Derrick Louis (Con hold)

  • Wivenhoe St Andrew - Julie Young (Lab hold)

*All holds and gains are compared to the 2013 local elections and don't take into account any subsequent by-elections

The result of the last County Council election in Essex in 2013.