Local Elections 2017: Northamptonshire

There are elections for 57 new councillors on Northamptonshire County Council.

The Conservatives have strengthed their majority on Northamptonshire County Council in the 2017 local elections.

The party's overall majority of 15 in 2013 has increased to 29

There 57 councillors on Northamptonshire County Council.

County Council elections are held every four years and in the last election in 2013, the Conservatives saw their overall majority of 39 reduced to a majority of 15. There had been boundary changes which had also cut the total number of seats on Northamptonshire County Council.

Any one party needs to win at least 29 seats to have an overall majority which means they can out-vote all the other parties.

Your new councillors on Northamptonshire County CouncilThe changes are compared to the last election in 2013

  • Abington & Phippsville- Danielle Stone (Lab Hold)

  • Billing & Rectory- Andrew Kilbride (Con Hold)

  • Boothville & Parklands- Mike Hallam(Con Hold)

  • Brackley- Fiona Baker (Con gain from UKIP)

  • Braunston & Crick- Malcolm Longley(Con Hold)

  • Brickhill & Queensway- Jonathan Ekins (Con gain from Lab)

  • Brixworth- Cecile Irving-Swift(Con Hold)

  • Bugbrooke- William Brown (Con Hold)

  • Burton & Broughton- Chris Smith-Haynes (Con gain from Ind)

  • Castle- Winston Strachan (Lab Hold)

  • Clover Hill- Bill Parker (Con Hold)

  • Corby Rural-Sandra Naden-Horley(Con Hold)

  • Corby West- Julie Brookfield (Lab Hold)

  • Croyland & Swanpool-Graham Lawman(Con Hold)

  • Dallington Spencer-Gareth Eales(Lab Hold)

  • Daventry East-Amy Howard(Con Hold)

  • Daventry West- Richard Auger (Con gain from UKIP)

  • Deanshanger- Allen Walker(Con Hold)

  • Delapre & Rushmere- Julie Davenport (Lab gain from Lib Dem)

  • Desborough- Allan Matthews (Con Hold)

  • Duston East- Suresh Patel (Con Hold)

  • Duston West & St Crispin- Matthew Golby (Con Hold)

  • Earls Barton- Rob Gough (Con Hold)

  • East Hunsbury & Shelfleys- Andre Savage (Con Hold)

  • Finedon- Gill Mercer (Con Hold)

  • Hackleton & Grange Park- Michael Clarke (Con Hold)

  • Hatton Park- Malcolm Waters (Con Hold)

  • Headlands- Arthur McCutcheon (Lab Hold)

  • Higham Ferrers- Glenn Harwood (Con Hold)

  • Irchester- Martin Griffiths (Con Hold)

  • Irthlingborough- Sylvia Hughes (Con Hold)

  • Ise- Victoria Perry (Con Hold)

  • Kingsthorpe North- Sam Rumens (Con gain from UKIP)

  • Kingsthorpe South- Jane Birch (Lab gain from Lib Dem)

  • Kingswood- John McGhee (Lab Hold)

  • Lloyds- Bob Scott (Lab Hold)

  • Long Buckby- Steve Osborne (Con Hold)

  • Middleton Cheney- Rebecca Breese (Con Hold)

  • Moulton- Judith Shephard (Con Hold)

  • Nene Valley - Lizzy Bowen (Con Hold)

  • Northall- Mick Scrimshaw (Lab Hold)

  • Oakley- Chris Stanbra (Lib Dem gain from Lab)

  • Oundle- Heather Smith (Con Hold)

  • Raunds- Dudley Hughes (Con Hold)

  • Riverside Park- Stephen Legg (Con Hold)

  • Rothwell & Mawsley- James Hakewell (Con Hold)

  • Rushden Pemberton West- Michael Tye (Con Hold)

  • Rushden South- Andy Mercer (Con Hold)

  • Silverstone- Ian Morris (Con Hold)

  • Sixfields- Pinder Chauhan (Congain from Lib Dem)

  • St George- Rachel Cooley (Lab gain from Lib Dem)

  • Talavera- Dennis Meredith (Lib Dem Hold)

  • Thrapston- Wendy Brackenbury (Con Hold)

  • Towcester & Roade- Adil Sadygov (Con gain from Lib Dem)

  • Wicksteed- Scott Edwards (Con Hold)

  • Windmill- Eileen Hales (Lab Hold)

  • Woodford & Weedon- Robin Brown (Con Hold)

The Conservatives have had a working majority on Northamptonshire County Council since 2005.

Labour had an overall majority between 1993 and 2005.

At the last election in Northamptonshire in 2013, the Conservatives won the most votes and seats taking a 37% share of the vote.

Labour won 26% of the votes with UKIP on 22%. The Liberal Democrats had a 9% share.

The result of the last County Council election in Northamptonshire in 2013.