1. ITV Report

More than a third of Anglia region's Tory MPs vote down Brexit deal

24 of the 59 Conservative MPs in the Anglia region voted to reject Theresa May's deal to leave the European Union. Credit: PA

More than one third of the Conservative MPs in the Anglia region joined the crushing rebellion against Theresa May's Brexit deal with the European Union.

It led to the biggest defeat of a government for more than a century as the House of Commons voted to reject the Withdrawal Agreement by 432 votes to 202.

The humiliating rebuff was delivered in the House of Commons just moments after the Prime Minister made a last-ditch appeal for MPs to back the Withdrawal Agreement which she sealed with Brussels in November after almost two years of negotiation.

  • Click to watch reaction from MPs in the Anglia region to the government's Brexit defeat

Of the 59 Conservative MPs in the Anglia region, 24 of them joined Labour, Independent and Liberal Democrat MPs in voting against the deal.

In total, 35 Conservative MPs in the Anglia region voted in favour of the deal and most of them were members of the government and expected to support it.

The MP for Corby Tom Pursglove had to resign as a Conservative Party vice chairman in order to vote against the deal.

Britain is due to leave the European Union on 29 March 2019.

As a result of the defeat, which was on a much greater scale than many had expected, the Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn tabled a vote of no confidence in the government to be held on Wednesday.

The 230-vote margin of defeat was by far the worst suffered by any Government in a meaningful division since at least the First World War and in normal circumstances would be enough to force a Prime Minister from office.

But Mrs May made clear she intends to stay on, setting out plans for talks with senior parliamentarians from parties across the Commons in the hope of finding "genuinely negotiable" solutions which she can take to Brussels.

Six of the 24 Conservative MPs in the Anglia region who voted to reject the Brexit deal.

Deputy Conservative Party Chairman and Braintree MP James Cleverly expressed his disappointment at the outcome: "Well obviously you never like to lose a vote and you definitely don't like to lose a vote with a number like that."

"What we need to find out now is what a majority of MPs will support - opposing stuff is easy. What we need to thrash out now is what deal Members of Parliament will support so that we can make good on our commitment to the British people and leave the European Union.

"It is inevitable - that on something as significant as this you want as broad a spectrum of political support as possible."

– James Cleverly MP - Braintree (Con)

Conservative MPs in the Anglia region who voted against the Brexit Withdrawal deal

  • Heidi Allen - Cambridgeshire South
  • Sir David Amess - Southend West
  • Richard Bacon - South Norfolk
  • John Baron - Basildon & Billericay
  • Peter Bone - Wellingborough
  • Nadine Dorries - Mid Bedfordshire
  • James Duddridge - Rochford and Southend East
  • Mark Francois - Rayleigh and Wickford
  • Robert Halfon - Harlow
  • Sir John Hayes - South Holland and the Deepings
  • Philip Hollobone - Kettering
  • Sir Bernard Jenkin - Harwich and North Essex
Seven of the 24 Conservative MPs in the Anglia region who voted to reject the Brexit deal.
  • Andrew Lewer - Northampton South
  • Anne Main - St Albans
  • Stephen McPartland - Stevenage
  • Stephen Metcalfe - South Basildon and East Thurrock
  • Priti Patel - Witham
  • Sir Mike Penning - Hemel Hempstead
  • Tom Pursglove - Corby
  • Will Quince - Colchester
  • Grant Shapps - Welwyn Hatfield
  • Shailesh Vara - North West Cambridgeshire
  • Giles Watling - Clacton
  • John Whittingdale - Maldon

Labour and the Liberal Democrats had pledged to reject the withdrawal deal and voted accordingly.

Of the 69 MPs in the Anglia region, 35 voted to accept the deal while 32 voted against.

The Buckingham MP and Speaker John Bercow and Deputy Speaker Eleanor Laing, the Epping Forest MP, did not vote as is custom.

Anglia region MPs from other parties who voted against the Brexit deal

  • Kelvin Hopkins - Luton North (Ind)
  • Norman Lamb - North Norfolk (Lib Dem)
  • Clive Lewis - Norwich South (Lab)
  • Sandy Martin - Ipswich (Lab)
  • Fiona Onasanya - Peterborough (Ind)
  • Gavin Shuker - Luton South (Lab)
  • Mohammad Yasin - Bedford (Lab)
  • Daniel Zeichner - Cambridge (Lab)