Anglia Late Edition is the regional politics programme for the East of England presented by political correspondent Emma Hutchinson

Brexit continues to dominate the political headlines as Prime Minister Theresa May struggles to get her EU withdrawal deal through the House of Commons.

In the Anglia region, 24 of the 58 Conservative MPs in the Anglia region voted against the deal when it was first put to the Commons in January 2019.

The government lost the vote by 230 - the largest defeat by a government in parliamentary history.

The PM has been in Brussels trying to negotiate an extension to the Brexit process to the end of June from Friday 29 March.

  • Click to watch the Anglia Late Edition programme broadcast on Thursday 21 March 2019

By the time of the second vote in March 2019, the government loss had been reduced to 149 votes but still was another of the biggest defeats of a government policy that the Commons has ever seen.

Nine Conservative MPs changed their mind and decided to vote in favour of accepting the withdrawal deal.

  • Sir David Amess - Southend West

  • Nadine Dorries - Mid Bedfordshire

  • Robert Halfon - Harlow

  • Sir John Hayes - South Holland & The Deepings

  • Stephen McPartland - Stevenage

  • Stephen Metcalfe - South Basildon and East Thurrock

  • Sir Mike Penning - Hemel Hempstead

  • Will Quince - Colchester

  • Giles Watling - Clacton

The guests on Anglia Late Edition were Alistair Burt MP (Con), Baroness Angela Smith (Lab) and Peter Bone MP (Con) Credit: ITV Anglia

Emma Hutchinson was joined in the studio by three politicians from the Anglia region.

  • Alistair Burt is the Conservative MP for North East Bedfordshire and is a Foreign Office Minister. He supported the Remain campaign in the referendum and voted against a 'No Deal' Brexit in the House of Commons

  • Baroness Angela Smith is the Labour leader in the House of Lords. She was the MP for Basildon from 1997 until 2010.

  • Peter Bone is the Conservative MP for Wellingborough and was a leader campaigner for leaving the European Union. He has twice voted against the Prime Minister's withdrawal deal.

Alistair Burt and Peter Bone are from opposing wings of the Conservative Party and clashed during the programme.