1. ITV Report

Essex changes its name to 'Essos' to mark Game of Thrones finale

Signs have been placed outside Colchester Castle. Credit: HBO

The county of Essex has undergone a dramatic rebrand to celebrate the legacy of Game of Thrones.

The hit HBO series came to an end of Monday night after eight thrilling seasons.

To mark the digital release of the show's final season, four regions of the Uk have been transformed into the Seven Kingdoms - the fictional world in which the story is set.

Among the four chosen places to be given a makeover is Essex which has been renamed 'Essos' in tribute to a continent which features in the show.

The county of Essex has been renamed Essos. Credit: HBO

As part of the transformation, signs declaring the county as 'Essos' have been unveiled outside key landmarks like Colchester Castle.

HBO said that the signs will be in place for a "limited time only" and fans are being encouraged to take selfies with the hashtag #GoTTakeover while they've still got the chance.

Tourist bosses in Essex are hoping that the stunt will help to attract more visitors to the county.

“Visit Essex is so excited and proud to be linked with one of the biggest shows ever in history," Lisa Bone from Visit Essex said.

"We have fully embraced the Game of Thrones takeover of Essex, now named Essos and to have a visible connection to the show outside one of our most iconic attractions, Colchester Castle in Britain's first city, is a huge opportunity.

"We look forward to welcoming visitors from far and wide to see it!”

The four chosen places

  • Highgarden - Formerly known as Covent Garden in London
  • Castle Black-pool - Formerly known as Blackpool
  • Essos - Formerly known as Essex
  • Winterfell - Formerly known as Doune Castle in Scotland