Brexit Party sweeps to victory in the East Midlands

Five new MEPs have been elected to the European Parliament from the East Midlands. Credit: PA Images

The Brexit Party has won three of the five MEP seats in the East Midlands with the Tories losing out to Labour and the Liberal Democrats.

Votes cast in the East Midlands

  • Brexit Party - 452,321 (38.2%)

  • Liberal Democrats - 203,989 (17.2%)

  • Labour - 164,682 (13.9%)

  • Conservative - 126,138 (10.7%)

  • Green - 124,630 (10.5%)

  • UKIP - 58,198 (4.9%)

  • Change UK - 41,117 (3.5%)

  • Independent Network - 7,641 (0.7%)

  • Simon Rood (Ind) - 4,511 (0.4%)

The new MEPs for the East Midlands include the Brexit Party's Annunziata Rees-Mogg, the sister of the Conservative MP Brexiteer Jacob Rees-Mogg.

Two other Brexit Party MEPs have also been elected - Jonathan Bullock and Matthew Patten.

Bill Newton Dunn returns to the European Parliament for the Liberal Democrats after losing his seat in 2014.

Labour return Rory Palmer to the European Parliament but the Conservatives lost both of their seats.

  • Click to watch a report on the European Election in the East Midlands

Voters went to the polls in the European Elections in the UK on Thursday 23 May 2019. Credit: PA

The turnout in the East Midlands was slightly higher than the last European Election in 2014 when 33.2% of people voted.

This year the turnout was 34.9%.

Although the UK voted for its Euro MPs on Thursday, the votes could only be counted on Sunday after the whole of Europe had completed voting.

The East Midlands region constituency includes Northamptonshire, Rutland, Leicestershire and Lincolnshire.

All the votes were counted in the 40 districts of the region and then collated into a final result in Kettering.

The five MEPs were allocated under a proportional representation system accounting to the share of the vote each party received.

The MEPs from the East Midlands are among 71 Euro MPs from the UK.

The European Parliament, which meets in Brussels and Strasbourg, has a total of 751 MEPs from 28 countries.

Britain was due to leave the European Union on 29 March 2019 but that has been extended to 31 October.