Andrea Leadsom out of the Tory leadership race but Matt Hancock gets through to next round

South Northamptonshire MP Andrea Leadsom has been eliminated from the Conservative leadership race failing to secure enough votes.

The South Northamptonshire MP Andrea Leadsom has failed to secure enough support from fellow Conservative MPs to become the next Prime Minister.

She got 11 votes, short of the 17 needed to get through to the next round of the Tory leadership race.

The West Suffolk MP Matt Hancock got 20 votes and is through to the next round along with the front-runner Boris Johnson who got the backing of 114 MPs.

  • Click to watch a report by ITV News Anglia's Political Correspondent Emma Hutchinson

Here are the results of the first round of voting in the Tory leadership race:

  • Michael Gove: 37 votes

  • Matt Hancock: 20 votes

  • Mark Harper: 10 votes

  • Jeremy Hunt: 43 votes

  • Sajid Javid: 23 votes

  • Boris Johnson: 114 votes

  • Andrea Leadsom: 11 votes

  • Esther McVey: 9 votes

  • Dominic Raab: 27 votes

  • Rory Stewart: 19 votes

Read more: Johnson in pole position as three leadership rivals fall in first round

The West Suffolk MP Matt Hancock is through to the next round of the Conservative leadership race. Credit: ITV News

Matt Hancock, who is the Health Secretary, thanked his supporters on Twitter.

Along with Theresa May, Andrea Leadsom got through to the final two candidates in the last Conservative leadership race in 2016 but pulled out of the contest before the vote went out to Tory members.

Read more: Conservative leadership race: Who are the runners and riders and where do they stand on Brexit?

The seven remaining candidates in the race to replace Theresa May face a series of further challenges after surviving the first round of voting.

Matt Hancock will need to secure a further 13 votes from fellow MPs to remain in the contest after second round voting next Tuesday.

The next vote in the Conservative leadership for the seven remaining candidates is Tuesday 18 June. Credit: PA Images
  • Sunday 16 June - The candidates left in the race have been invited to take part in a TV debate on Channel 4 hosted by Krishnan Guru-Murthy.

  • Monday 17 June - Second round of hustings in front of Conservative MPs with the remaining candidates.

  • Tuesday 18 June - Second ballot. Candidates need to secure 33 votes to continue in the contest. At 8pm, the BBC will host a debate for the remaining contenders.

  • Wednesday 19 June - Third ballot, where the candidate with the fewest votes is eliminated.

  • Thursday 20 June - The fourth and fifth ballots will continue until just two candidates remain. The backbench Conservative 1922 Committee, which is running the leadership contest, says it has provision for further ballots, but this is unlikely. The results will be announced at 1pm and 6pm respectively.

  • Saturday 22 June - Conservative Campaign Headquarters will begin the membership hustings process for party members to decide between the final two candidates. The party will aim for the hustings to take place in all 12 regions of the UK.

  • Week beginning 22 July - A new leader will be announced following the ballot of 160,000 Conservative members. The Prime Minister will then see the Queen to formally resign and the new leader will be invited to Buckingham Palace to form a government