Dozens of MPs have said they will not be seeking re-election at the December 12 poll.

MPs voted for the election in the House of Commons on 29 October.

Here is a list of those in the East of England who have said they will be standing down.


  • David Lidington - Aylesbury

  • Keith Simpson - Broadland

  • Alistair Burt - North East Bedfordshire

  • Sir Alan Duncan - Rutland and Melton

  • Mark Lancaster - Milton Keynes North

  • Sir Henry Bellingham - North West Norfolk

  • Mark Prisk - Hertford & Stortford

Nick Boles MP


  • John Bercow - Buckingham (Speaker of the House of Commons)

  • Nick Boles - Grantham and Stamford

  • Kelvin Hopkins - Luton North

Heidi Allen MP

Liberal Democrats

  • Sir Norman Lamb - North Norfolk

  • Heidi Allen - South Cambridgeshire