Peterborough has been using the ballot box rather more than most in recent years. Since 2015 three different people have been elected as MP.

  • Stewart Jackson in 2015

  • Fiona Onasanya in 2017

  • Lisa Forbes in June 2019 by-election

So when voters head to the polling stations again on 12 December it will be the fourth time that they have been given the opportunity to elect an MP in the constituency of Peterborough in the past four years.

The city is the most marginal Labour seat in the Anglia region. So that makes it Tory target number one.

The Conservatives lost it to Labour at the last election by only 607 votes. Labour held on by a similar margin of 683 votes in the by-election earlier this year when the main challenger was the Brexit Party.

And the Brexit Party are the big unknown in this election after knocking the Tories into third place in that by-election. It is possible they could again split the leave vote?

Peterborough is the most marginal Labour seat in the Anglia region. Credit: ITV Anglia

One thing is certain - the people of Peterborough know all about the election day numbers game.

  • Watch the Battleground Anglia report from Peterborough by ITV News Anglia's Stuart Leithes

There are eight candidates standing for election in the Peterborough constituency, which along with Cambridge, has the highest number of contenders in a single constituency of any seat in the Anglia region.

Election day is Thursday 12 December with polling stations open from 7am until 10pm

Candidates in Peterborough

  • Paul Bristow - Conservative

  • Luke Ferguson - Independent

  • Lisa Forbes - Labour

  • Mike Greene - Brexit Party

  • Tom Rogers - Christian Peoples Alliance

  • Beki Sellick - Liberal Democrats

  • The Very Raving Mr P - Official Monster Raving Loony Party

  • Joseph Wells - Green

There are 37 candidates after your vote in the 2019 General Election in the seven constituencies in Cambridgeshire.