Election results in Anglia mirror rest of the country as Labour vote collapses

The Conservatives have all-but swept the board in the Anglia region, matching their dominant performance in the rest of the 2019 General Election.

Kettering was the first result to be confirmed, at around 1.40am on Friday, 13 December. Philip Hollobone was re-elected with an increased majority of around 6,000.

The first seat to change hands was in Peterborough, which switched from Labour to the Conservative candidate Paul Bristow.

MORE: Get all the results as they come in here

WATCH: The reaction as the Conservatives take Peterborough from Labour

Paul Bristow was elected in Peterborough, where the Conservatives unseated Labour's Lisa Forbes

The Conservative success was clearly eminent in Thurrock, which was their most marginal seat going into the election. There Jackie Doyle-Price increased her majority from less than 1,000 to around 11,000.

Robert Halfon was one of the dozens of Conservative MPs to hold on to his seat in Harlow

Labour's successes were few and far between, but they did manage to hold on to some of their seats in the region.

That included Luton South, where the previous MP Gavin Shuker was standing as an Independent having resigned from the Labour Party during the last Parliament.

Labour's Clive Lewis also held onto Norwich South while Mohammad Yasin was re-elected in Bedford.