The Super Thursday Vote 2021: Local Election results in Northamptonshire

ITV News Anglia's Sarah Cooper is at the count in Kettering, where Brickhill and Queensway remains Conservative. Credit: ITV News Anglia/Sarah Cooper

The Conservatives have taken strong majorities in both of Northamptonshire's new unitary authorities.

West Northamptonshire and North Northamptonshire were being elected for the first time - as they replaced the county council and seven district councils that previously existed.

On North Northamptonshire Council, the Conservatives took 60 of the authority's 78 seats.

Labour won 14 seats, most of them in their Corby stronghold, while the Green Party had three councillors elected, with one Independent councillor completing the council.

The interactive map shows the winner in each Northamptonshire electoral division in the new North and West councils

In West Northamptonshire, the Conservatives won 66 seats, with Labour the second-largest party with 20.

The Liberal Democrats are the only other party represented with five seats.

Local elections which usually take place every year in May have stacked up because they have been postponed during the pandemic.

There has also been a shake-up in local government in Northamptonshire after the defunct County Council effectively went bankrupt and was bailed out by the government.

Elections in Northamptonshire on Thursday 6 May

  • All 78 seats on the new North Northamptonshire Council - three councillors will be elected in each electoral division

  • All 93 seats on the new West Northamptonshire Council - three councillors will be elected in each electoral division

  • Northamptonshire Police, Fire & Crime Commissioner - currently Conservative Stephen Mold

Polling stations were open on Thursday with social distancing measures including the wearing of a face covering and voters asked to use their own pen or pencil.

Coronavirus safety measures are also affecting the counting of the votes, which usually takes place immediately after polling stations have closed and into the early hours of the following day.

This year the counts will take place over several days across the Anglia region and all the results won’t be known until the following Monday.

  • Watch a report about the new councils in Northamptonshire by ITV News Anglia's Graham Stothard

Northamptonshire Police, Fire & Crime Commissioner

The Conservative candidate Stephen Mold has been re-elected as the Northamptonshire Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner.

He received more than half of the first preference votes and was automatically elected without the need for a count of the second preference votes.

Stephen Mold has been elected for a second term and will serve until the next election in 2024

Commissioner Mold said that he would prioritise work to safeguard children and young people and to ensure that their lives are not blighted by crime.

He added that the establishment of the two new unitary authorities for Northamptonshire offers a unique opportunity.

“This is a huge moment when we can all take a pause, refocus our efforts across the two new authorities, police and fire to intervene early to protect children and prevent them falling into or becoming a victim of crime.

"Tackling domestic violence is a significant part of that. This is an investment in the future of young people that ultimately reduces demand and makes us all safer.”

The four candidates who stood for Police, Fire & Crime Commissioner in Northamptonshire in 2021

More details of local elections elsewhere in the Anglia region

Bedfordshire | Cambridgeshire | Essex | Hertfordshire | Milton Keynes | Norfolk | Northamptonshire | Suffolk

The interactive map shows the party winner in each Northamptonshire County Council electoral division at the last election in 2017 and the percentage majority