Corby by-election

The Corby by-election is set to take place on November 15th. Corby will elect a new MP on the same day as Police and Crime Commissioners are elected.

Live updates


Labour's Andy Sawford is the new MP for Corby

Andy Sawford has won the Corby by-election as Labour snatch the seat from the Conservatives. Credit: Rui Vieira/PA Wire/Press Association Images

The Labour party has won the Corby by-election beating the Conservatives who took the seat from them at the 2010 General Election.

The new Labour MP is Andy Sawford who won with a majority of 7,791. He is the son of the former Kettering MP Phil Sawford.

He overturned a Conservative majority of 1,951.

Labour win Corby by-election

Labour have won the Corby by-election taking back the seat they lost to the Conservatives at the General Election in 2010.

Labour's Andy Sawford beat Conservative candidate Christine Emmett and the dozen other candidates.

Conservative Louise Mensch resigned as the MP for Corby in August so she could move her family to New York where her husband works.


Corby by-election candidates

DAVID LAURENCE BISHOP - Elvis Loves Pets Party



JILL HOPE - Liberal Democrats


DR ROHEN KAPUR - Young People's Party

ADAM LOTUN - Independent

MR MOZZARELLA - Independent

MARGOT PARKER - UK Independence Party

PETER REYNOLDS - CLEAR Cannabis Law Reform

GORDON RIDDELL - British National Party

ANDY SAWFORD - Labour Co-op

CHRISTOPHER SCOTTON - United People's Party

DAVID WICKHAM - English Democrat

Battle for Corby closes in

The date of the Corby by-election, triggered by the resignation of the Conservative MP Louise Mensch, has been confirmed for November the 15th.

The announcement today (23rd October) came just hours after a new opinion poll from the former Conservative Deputy Chairman Lord Ashcroft revealed Labour had a commanding 22 point lead over the Tories, with their coalition partner the Liberal Democrats lagging on just 5%.

Load more updates Back to top

Latest ITV News reports