Honorary degrees to be given to three former cabinet ministers

Three former cabinet ministers to receive honorary degrees from UEA Credit: ITV News Anglia

Three former Cabinet ministers from the region are getting honorary degrees this week from the University of East Anglia.

Former Labour MP Charles Clarke, Conservatives Baroness Gillian Shephard and Lord Deben are among 15 people receiving the accolade.

Mark Thompson - the TV scientist and president of the Norwich Astronomical Society is also on the list.

We take great pride in honouring those who make valuable and notable contributions to society alongside our newest cohort of graduating students and it's always a delight to hear the words of wisdom they can impart at our graduation ceremonies.

– UEA Vice-Chancellor, Prof David Richardson

The 18 recipients will attend UEA graduation ceremonies this week as 4,500 students join the university's 135,000 existing alumni. They'll speak to them about their own careers, lives and successes.

Honorary degrees are awarded annually to honour individuals who have made outstanding accomplishments or contributions to the community.

  • Charles Clarke will receive an Honorary Doctorate of Civil Law
  • Lord Deben will receive an Honorary Doctorate of Science
  • Baroness Shephard will receive an Honorary Doctorate of Civil Law

I am delighted and honoured to be awarded an honorary degree from the UEA. My advice to graduates is to aim high and enjoy your life.

– Baroness Shephard