1. ITV Report

General Election: Which Border region MPs will stand for re-election?

A General Election will be held on 8 June. Credit: Yui Mok/PA Wire/PA Images

MPs have voted to hold a snap General Election on 8 June 2017, meaning voters across Cumbria, Dumfries and Galloway and the Scottish Borders will be heading back to the polling booths.

That means the region's local MPs have to decide whether or not to stand for re-election, and if they do choose to stand, to hit the campaign trail.

All of the Border region's MPs have now confirmed to ITV Border that they will stand for re-election, if selected by their parties.

They are:

  • Calum Kerr (SNP, Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk)
  • Richard Arkless (SNP, Dumfries and Galloway)
  • David Mundell (Cons, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale)
  • Sue Hayman (Lab, Workington)
  • Tim Farron (Lib Dems, Westmorland and Lonsdale)
  • Trudy Harrison (Cons, Copeland)
  • John Stevenson (Cons, Carlisle)
  • Rory Stewart (Cons, Penrith and the Border)

More on this story