Cumbria Tourism Awards winners announced

Credit: Cumbria Tourism Awards 2017

Winners of the 15th Cumbria Tourism Awards have been announced.

The awards are aimed at celebrating the diversity of the county's tourism industry.

The winners at the 2017 awards are:

  • Tourism Experience of the Year: Bay Cycle Way, Morecambe Bay Partnership

  • Tourism Event of the Year: Go Herdwick Public Art Trail

  • Wedding Venue of the Year: The Villa Levens (Highly Commended: The Daffodil Hotel and Spa, Grasmere)

  • Taste Cumbria Award: Askham Hall, Askham

  • Tourism Pub of the Year: The Three Shires Inn, Little Langdale

  • B&B of the Year: The Malabar, Sedbergh

  • Guest Accommodation of the Year: Hazel Bank Country House, Borrowdale

  • Small Hotel of the Year: Cragwood Country House Hotel, Windermere

  • Large Hotel of the Year: The Swan Hotel & Spa, Newby Bridge

  • New Tourism Business Award: Cliffhanger Rooms, Newby Bridge (Highly Commended: The Cocoa Bean, Hawkshead)

  • Sheila Hensman Award for Outstanding Contribution to Excllence: Mel Ibbotson, Leathes Head Hotel, Borrowdale

  • Sustainable Tourism Award: The Quiet Site, Ullswater (Highly Commended: Newlands Adventure Centre, Keswick)

  • Self-Catering Provider of the Year: The Halston, Carlisle

  • Self-Catering Property of the Year: Hart Barn, Patterdale (Highly Commended: Gate House, Coniston)

  • Visitor Attraction of the Year: Mirehouse and Gardens, Bassenthwaite

  • Large Visitor Attraction of the Year: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery, Carlisle

  • Holiday Park of the Year: Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, Ambleside

  • 2017 Bernard Gooch Tourism Personality of the Year: Ian Stephens, Managing Director of Cumbria Tourism