1. ITV Report

Rory Stewart remains in the running to become Conservative Party leader

Credit: PA

Rory Stewart remains in the race to become the next Conservative Party leader.

The Penrith and The Border MP almost doubled support from Conservative MPs, receiving 37 votes compared to only 19 in the first round.

All 313 Tory MPs took part in the vote. The results were as follows:

  • Boris Johnson- 126
  • Jeremy Hunt- 46
  • Michael Gove- 41
  • Dominic Raab- 30
  • Sajid Javid- 33
  • Rory Stewart- 37

Dominic Raab will be eliminated and all of the other five candidates will go through to the third round of voting.

All remaining candidates will take part in the BBC Television debate tonight at 8pm.

Sorry, this content isn't available on your device.