Rory Stewart eliminated from the race to become next Conservative Party leader

Penrith and the Border MP Rory Stewart has been eliminated from the race to become the next Conservative Party leader and Prime Minister.

Each contender in the race was required to gain the backing of at least 33 Tory MPs in order to progress but Mr Stewart failed to do so, only gaining 27 votes - less than in the previous ballot.

The results of the vote are as followed:

Credit: ITV News

Following the results Jeremy Hunt tweeted: "Three times now MPs have chosen me as the person best-paced to take on Boris.

"If I make it to the final I will put my heart & soul into giving him the contest of his life: in politics today the unexpected often happens. The stakes too high to allow anyone to sail through untested."

Sajid Javid tweeted: "Delighted to make it through to the final day of MP voting. Grateful for the support of many excellent colleagues. We can do this! #TeamSaj #BrexitAndBeyond

"Thank you @RoryStewartUK for the positive impact you have had on this campaign. You've injected it with real humility, authenticity, and pragmatism. Like many I look forward to seeing the contribution you will make to our party and the country in the future."

Dominic Raab was the last MP to be eliminated on Tuesday night, before the debate on BBC.

The next ballot will take place tomorrow, where two more will lose their place in the race for Number 10.