MPs react to new prime minister Boris Johnson

Boris Johnson is the next leader of the Conservative Party and will become the UK's next prime minister after defeating rival Jeremy Hunt.

There was a huge turnout of voters. Mr Johnson won by a clear majority, securing 92,153 votes, with Mr Hunt receiving 46,656.

The former Foreign Secretary was expected to takeover Number 10, being a clear frontrunner for the majority of the race.

Credit: PA

Scottish Conservative Party politician John Lamont reacted moments after the news was announced.

David Mundell, MP and Secretary of State for Scotland, took to Twitter:

Border and Penrith MP Rory Stewart, who was knocked out of the race to become Conservative leader, says he will not serve under Mr Johnson's lead.

Mr Stewart has now confirmed his resignation in a tweet after clashing with Mr Johnson.

Conservative MP for Copeland Trudy Harrison reacted to the news:

Boris Johnson addresses the room, moments after election news. Credit: PA

MP for Westmorland and Lonsdale and former leader of the Liberal Democrats, Tim Farron, is less pleased about Mr Johnson's appointing.

Mrs May is set to resign in the presence of the Queen after taking Prime Minister's Questions in the Commons on Wednesday afternoon.