Scottish Parliament Elections 2016: The results

Vote counting is nearing an end and election results are being announced across the region. The Conservative party won the MSP seats in both Dumfriesshire and Galloway & West Dumfries.

Live updates


Scottish Parliament Elections 2016: Conservative hold Galloway and West Dumfries

Credit: ITV Border

Conservative HOLD Galloway and West Dumfries.

Finlay Carson is elected MSP with 14,527 votes.

turnout in Galloway and West Dumfries, with 33,458 votes cast.
  • Finlay Carson, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party - 14,527
  • Aileen McLeod, SNP - 13,013
  • Fiona O'Donnell, Scottish Labour Party - 4,876
  • Andrew Robert Metcalf, Scottish Liberal Democrats - 947

Scottish Parliament Elections 2016: Conservative gain Dumfriesshire

Credit: ITV Border

Conservative GAIN Dumfriesshire from Labour.

Oliver Mundell wins the seat with 13,536 votes, replacing Labour's Elaine Murray who loses her seat after 17 years.

turnout in Dumfriesshire, with 36,361 votes cast.
  • Oliver Mundell, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party - 13,536
  • Joan McAlpine, SNP - 12,306
  • Elaine Murray, Scottish Labour Party - 9,151
  • Richard John Brodie, Scottish Liberal Democrats - 1,267


Load more updates Back to top

Latest ITV News reports