General Election: Border region constituency profiles

Meet the candidates from all of the major parties, who will be battling it out in the General Election.

Eight seats are up for grabs in the Border region: Carlisle, Copeland, Workington, Penrith & the Border, Westmorland & Lonsdale, Dumfries & Galloway, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale & Tweeddale, and Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk.

Live updates

Constituency report: Westmorland & Lonsdale

In the last of our reports from the eight parliamentary constituencies in the Border region, we look at Westmorland and Lonsdale.

The Liberal Democrat Leader, Tim Farron, wants to hold on to his seat in Parliament - while the other candidates are hoping to cause an upset by defeating him.

Fiona Marley Paterson reports.

  • James Airey, Conservatives
  • Eli Aldridge, Labour
  • Tim Farron, Liberal Democrats
  • Mr Fish Finger, Independent

Constituency report: Copeland

There is a sense of deja vu for three of the four candidates standing in Copeland in Thursday's General Election.

It's less than four months since Copeland's last by-election, when the Conservatives won the seat from Labour.

Now, the candidates are once again pounding the pavements and knocking on doors.

Katie Hunter has been out on the campaign trail with them:

  • Herbert Crossman, UKIP
  • Rebecca Hanson, Liberal Democrat
  • Trudy Harrison, Conservative
  • Gillian Troughton, Labour


Constituency report: Workington

Workington has been held by Labour for most of its 99 year history.

The Conservatives did take the seat in a by-election in 1976 but lost it again three years later. This year the Tories are pushing hard to win it back.

Matthew Taylor has been meeting the candidates:

  • Sue Hayman - Labour
  • Roy Ivinson
  • George Kemp - Ukip
  • Phill Roberts - Liberal Democrat
  • Clark Vasey - Conservative

Constituency report: Dumfries & Galloway

In the run up to the General Election, our reporter has been on the road in Dumfries & Galloway.

In this report, Kathryn Samson explored what issues are in the constituency stretching from Dumfries to Stranraer.

In particular, the locals often feeling forgotten. She met the candidates who claim they can put the constituency back on the map.

The candidates for the region are:

  • Richard Arkless (Scottish National Party)
  • Daniel Goodare (Labour)
  • Yen Hongmei Jin (Independent)
  • Alister Jack (Conservative)
  • Joan Mitchell (Liberal Democrat)

Constituency report: Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale

In the latest of our General Election features, our reporter Alan Jenkins reports from Peebles, the town at the northernmost point of the sprawling constituency of Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale.

He explores the race for that seat which for the last 12 years has been held by the only conservative MP in Scotland.

The candidates for the region are:

  • Douglas Beattie (Labour)
  • John Ferry (Liberal Democrat)
  • Mairi McAllan (Scottish National Party)
  • David Mundell (Conservative)

Constituency report: Carlisle

Carlisle was once a Labour stronghold in the North, but it turned Blue in 2010, and saw an increased Tory majority in in 2015.

Carlisle's the type of seat Labour need to regain if they're to have any chance of forming the next government.

Hannah McNulty has been looking at the battle for the great Border city:

  • Ruth Alcroft - Labour
  • John Stevenson - Conservatives
  • Fiona Mills - UKIP
  • Peter Thornton - Liberal Democrats


Back to top

Latest ITV News reports