Live updates


Deadline passed for Copeland by-election candidates

The deadline is this afternoon. Credit: PA

The deadline has passed for candidates who want to register to stand in the Copeland by-election.

The seat in west Cumbria was vacated by Labour MP Jamie Reed in January, after he announced his intention to resign last December.

The following candidates have been announced:

  • Conservative: Trudy Harrison
  • Green Party: Jack Lenox
  • Independent: Michael Guest
  • Independent: Roy Ivinson
  • Labour: Gill Troughton
  • Liberal Democrats: Rebecca Hanson
  • UKIP: Fiona Mills