Border region New Year Honours

People throughout Cumbria, Dumfries and Galloway and the Scottish Borders were recognised in the Queen's New Year Honours list.

Here's the full list from our region.


  • Dr William Lawler. Forensic Pathologist. For services to the Police and Criminal Justice System. (Penrith, Cumbria)
  • Neil Dennis Baldwin. For services to the Nuclear Industry particularly Civil Nuclear Engineering and Decommissioning. (St Bees, Cumbria)
  • Ms Janice Davinson. Formerly Organiser, Cumbria Federation of Young Farmers Clubs. For services to Farming and Rural Communities in Cumbria. (Penrith, Cumbria)
  • Mrs Karen-Marie Horn. Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence. For services to the Armed Forces and Service Families. (Arlecdon, Cumbria)
  • Anthony Bawden Robinson. For services to Mountain Rescue and to the community in Coniston Cumbria.
  • Mrs Patricia Anne Burns. Staff Governor, Appleby Grammar School, Cumbria. For services to Education. (Appleby in Westmorland, Cumbria)
  • Keith Granville Buckler. For services to the New English Orchestra and to Charity through Rotary in Grange-over-Sands Cumbria. (Ulverston, Cumbria)
  • Ian Clinton. Lately Principal, Blackburn College. For services to Further Education. (Kendal, Cumbria)
  • Ms Margrit Wendy Scott. President, Association for the Professional Development of Early Years Educators. For services to Education (Keswick, Cumbria)
  • Professor Elizabeth Margaret Beaty. Emeritus Professor and lately Pro Vice Chancellor, University of Cumbria. For services to Higher Education (Penrith, Cumbria)
  • Arthur Capstick. For services to Education and to the community in Staveley and Kendal, Cumbria. (Kendal, Cumbria)
  • John Thomas Graham. For services to the Langdale Ambleside Mountain Rescue Team, Cumbria. (Ambleside, Cumbria)
  • Ms Tiffany Hunt. For services to Heritage in North West England (Cumbria)


  • Mrs Alison Graham Hall. Chair, Dumfries and Galloway Branch, Stillbirth and Neonatal Death Charity. For services to charity in Dumfries and Galloway. (Nithbank, Dumfries)
  • Mrs Catherine Ann Mitchell. Cleaner, Annan Police Station. For services to Dumfries and Galloway Division, Police Scotland. (Annan, Dumfries)
  • David Smith. For services to the Heritage of Robert Burns. (Cargenbridge, Dumfries)

Scottish Borders:

  • Mrs Judith Mary Smith. Macmillan Nurse Consultant, Cancer and Palliative Care, Borders General Hospital. For services to Oncology in the Scottish Borders. (Galashiels, Roxburgh, Ettrick and Laude)
  • Henry Scott Douglas. For services to the community in Bonchester, Scottish Borders. (Hawick, Roxburgh, Ettrick and Lauderd)
  • Donald Swanson. For services to rugby in Peebles. (Peebles, Tweedale)