General Election: Border region constituency profiles

Meet the candidates from all of the major parties, who will be battling it out in the General Election.

Eight seats are up for grabs in the Border region: Carlisle, Copeland, Workington, Penrith & the Border, Westmorland & Lonsdale, Dumfries & Galloway, Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale & Tweeddale, and Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk.

View all 7 updates ›

Constituency report: Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale

In the latest of our General Election features, our reporter Alan Jenkins reports from Peebles, the town at the northernmost point of the sprawling constituency of Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale.

He explores the race for that seat which for the last 12 years has been held by the only conservative MP in Scotland.

The candidates for the region are:

  • Douglas Beattie (Labour)
  • John Ferry (Liberal Democrat)
  • Mairi McAllan (Scottish National Party)
  • David Mundell (Conservative)

More top news