Inmates get over 83 years for rioting in prison

Moorlands Young Offenders Institute

Four men of the 15 convicted of rioting or violent disorder at a South Yorkshire prison, have been sentenced at Sheffield Crown Court.

On Tuesday 2, Wednesday 3 and Thursday 4 November, 2010, serious disorder ensued at HMP Moorland in Doncaster.

A number of prisoners were involved in the rioting and violent disorder and caused a substantial amount of damage and disruption to the prison. A bin was set on fire and the blaze escalated, flames reached 40 feet, taking hold of the surrounding area and coming out of the roof of the building.

South Yorkshire Police, supported by the Prison Service, conducted a lengthy investigation into the riots and provided a dedicated team of detectives to identify the offenders involved in the disruption.

Eighty-six suspects were interviewed, with 22 charged with rioting or violent disorder.Sixteen were charged with rioting and appeared for trial at Sheffield Crown Court on Monday, 9 July. Ten were found guilty and one entered a guilty plea. They were given their sentences on Friday, 24 August, ranging from four to ten years for their offences, with a combined total of 77 years in prison.

The remaining six of the 22 were charged with violent disorder and appeared for trial at Sheffield Crown Court on Monday, 10 September. Of the six, four entered guilty pleas and two were found not guilty. The four who pleaded guilty have today each been given a prison sentence of one year and eight months, with a combined total of six years and eight months in prison.

Assistant Detective Inspector Helen Lewis who managed the police investigation said:

Marian Mahoney, Governor of Moorland, said:

Daniel Baldam
Daniel Hallgate
Adam Mendoza
Aaron Graham
Michael Beale
Lee Piddock
Kyle Sherlock
James Kelly
Jake Johnson
Thomas Beadle
Robert Sawyers
Luke Oliver
Jack Millington