1. ITV Report

New Year Honours for region's Olympic Athletes

MBE for Nicola Adams Photo:

There is a CBE for Sheffield heptathlete - and the Golden Girl of the 2012 Olympics - Jess Ennis in today's New Year Honours List.

Jessica Ennis Credit: ITV Yorkshire

And there are MBEs for boxer Nicola Adams and triathlete Alistair Brownlee from Leeds, Archer Danielle Brown from Lothersdale in North Yorkshire, for paralympic athlete Hannah Cockroft from Halifax and para-equestrian Sophie Wells from Lincoln. Former paratrooper Ben Parkinson has also received the MBE for his services to charity.

Other people from our region to receive awards include:


Howard John Crowther, Detective chief Superintendent,West Yorkshire Police.

David Griffin, Deputy chief Constable, Humberside Police.

Mrs Ingrid Lee, Temporary assistant chief Constable, West Yorkshire Police.

QUEEN'S AMBULANCE SERVICE MEDALHayden Phillip Newton, Chief executive, East of England Ambulance Service NHS Trust.


Jack Stephenson, For services to the community and to charity in Scarborough

Professor Sarah Madeleine Thompson, Head, Department of Physics, University of York. For services to Higher Education.

Eric Twigger, Formerly Chair of Governors, Hull College. For services to Further Education.

David Warin, For services to Drive Alive and to the community in Pickering North Yorkshire.

Mrs Wendy Jill Watson, Founder, National Hereditary Breast Cancer Helpline. For services to People with Breast Cancer. Bakewell, Derbyshire

Geoffrey Bartholomew, For services to Youth Football in Grimsby and Cleethorpes.

Harold John Burkhill, For charitable services in Sheffield

Barry Buxton, For services to the community in Ropsle, near Grantham, Lincolnshire.

Mrs Marlene Chambers, For services to the community in Thornhill Lees, Dewsbury, West Yorkshire.

Mrs Jean Lorna Curtis, For services to the community in Coningsby, Lincolnshire.

James Dixon, For services to the community in Lincolnshire.

Mrs Joyce Fieldhouse, Volunteer, Mencap, Leeds. For services to People with Learning Disabilities and their FamiliesKenneth Garland, For services to the community in York.

Mrs Patricia Susan Hampshire, For services to Emley Moor, Riding for the Disabled in Huddersfield.

Mrs Margaret Joyce Jessop, For charitable services in Boston, Lincolnshire.

Mrs Helen Ruth Kirk, Campaigner and Volunteer, Thorne and Hatfield Moors. For services to Conservation.

Matthew Milnes, Founder, Scholemoor Sport and Recreation Project. For services to the community in Bradford.

Miss Natasha Eve Pearson, PE Teacher, Balby Carr Sports and Science College. For services to Education and for voluntary service to Children with Disabilities through Shine and Smile, Huddersfield

Michael Picknett, Lifeboat Helmsman, RNLI. For services to Maritime Safety. Redcar, North YorkshireRalph Porter, For services to the community in Reeth North Yorkshire.

Mrs Ann Lesley Priestman, For services to the community in Shelley, Huddersfield

Mrs Barbara Elaine Sabin, For services to the Salvation Army and to the community in RotherhamJohn Alston Scott, For services to the communities in Strensall and York North Yorkshire.

Christopher John Sellars, For services to Swimming Coaching in Derbyshire.

Ms Valerie Raleigh Thornhill, Founder, VISTA. For services to Adult Education in Beverley, East Yorkshire.

Malcolm Torry, For services to Sailing and to People with Disabilities through Carsington Sailability in Derbyshire.

Mrs Joan Villiers, For charitable services in Yorkshire and Humberside through Sports Aid and Heart Research UK.

Mrs Mary Geraldine Wardle, For services to the community in Milltown, Chesterfield

Christopher Howard Wilby, Formerly Executive director, Scarborough YMCA. For services to Young People.

Geoffrey William Winter, For services to Music and to the community in Grantham Lincolnshire.

Ernest Edmond Wyer, For services to the community in Morton and Hanthorpe Lincolnshire.

Peter McNestry, Chair, Coalfields Regeneration Trust, Wath upon Dearne, Rotherham. For services to Coalfield Communities.

Michael Roy Mottram, Equipment Officer, South Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service. For services to Local Government.

Mrs Patricia Jayne Mudd, Nurse consultant, Cardiac Rhythm Management, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Healthcare. Hutton Rudby, North Yorkshire

Gerald Parkes, Founder, Parkway Cinemas. For services to the UK Cinema Industry. Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire

Frank Paterson, Formerly Chair, Friends of The National Railway Museum. For services to Museums

Mrs Jean Pendlebury, For services to the community in Buxton, Derbyshire.

Glyn Rhodes, Founder, Sheffield Boxing Centre. For services to Boxing and Young People in Sheffield.

Michael Rossiter, Formerly Headteacher, Woodlesford Primary School, Leeds. For services to Education and to the community in Leeds.

Mrs Rosalind Louise Rowley, For services to the community in Scarborough.Mrs Inderjeet Hunjan, Head of Access and Widening Participation Team, Leeds Metropolitan University. For services to Higher Education.

Mrs Jillian Lesley Johnson, Artistic director of Concerts, University of Leeds. For services to Higher Education and Music in Leeds.

Michael Johnson, Group Training manager, Gelder Group. For services to Training and Skills. Lincolnshire

Mrs Judith Mary Kitching, For charitable services in Rudby, North Yorkshire. Mrs Sally Ann Kynaston, Higher Officer, Project Co-ordinator, Programmes and Projects, Barnsley. For services to HM Revenue and Customs and to Girl Guiding in Yorkshire South.

Mrs Pauline Mercer Litton, Harrogate, For services to Geneaology and Family History

Anthony Rowland Favell, Councillor and Chair, Peak District National Park Authority. For political and public service.

Oliver Michael Fenton, Consultant Plastic Surgeon, Pinderfields General Hospital, Wakefield, West Yorkshire. For services to Paediatric Plastic Surgery.

Mrs Jayne Sharon Field, For services to the Sleaford Concert Band and to the communities in Sleaford and North Kesteven, Lincolnshire.

Peter Grubb, Leeds, Chair of Trustees, Nigeria Health Care Project. For services to Healthcare in Nigeria.

James Norman Gundill, Pontefrace, for services to Horseracing

Colin Appleyard, For services to Motorcycle Sport, KeighleyJohn Arnold, President, English Schools Table Tennis Association, National Council for School Sport. For services to School Sport, Wakefield

Mrs Valerie Barker, For services to the community of the Mixenden Social Housing Estate, Halifax.

David John Beardsall, Retained Watch manager in Charge, Nottinghamshire and City of Nottingham Fire and Rescue Authority. For Services to Local Government. Retford, Nottinghamshire

Dr Cheryle June Berry, For services to Education Health and charity in Lincolnshire and Derbyshire.

Harold Kebir Berry, For services to the community in Pontefrac

Charles Bryan Bottomley, Foster Carer and Adoptive Parent, Hull. For services to Children and Families

Mrs Patricia Bottomley, Foster Carer and Adoptive Parent, Hull. For services to Children and Families.

Mrs June Cliffe, For services to the community in Sharlston, West Yorkshire.

Robert Emile Collins, For services to the Meanwood Valley Urban Farm and to the community in Leeds