1. ITV Report

Hilary Benn and Yvette Cooper appointed select committee chairs

Hilary Benn was sacked from the shadow cabinet earlier this year Credit: PA

MPs have elected Labour's Hilary Benn to become chairman of the Exiting the European Union Select Committee and Yvette Cooper to become Home Affairs Select Committee chairwoman, Speaker John Bercow has said.

Yvette Cooper has previously ran for Labour Leadership Credit: PA

The Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford MP has been elected to replace Keith Vaz.

Mr Vaz stepped down as chairman last month following a scandal over his alleged use of male escorts and has since been referred to the Commons standards watchdog.