Election 2019 Result: Meet your new MPs

It was a disastrous night for Labour in our patch with the party losing long-held seats, such as Wakefield, Don Valley, Grimsby and Rother Valley.

Across the region a total of 13 seats changed hands from Labour to Conservative. Below is some information about the new constituency representatives.


Wakefield has its first Conservative MP since 1931, after a shock general election result. Mary Creagh who has served as MP for Wakefield for 14 years, lost the traditionally Labour 'safe' seat to Conservative Imran Nasir Ahmad-Khan.

Imran Nasir Ahmad-Khan: Imran is not a career politician and has never stood for public office before. He spent many years fighting for democracy and freedom overseas in conflict-ridden countries, including Afghanistan, Syria, and Somalia.

"I believe that getting Brexit done is key to securing our future. When it comes to democratic representation."

Imran with PM Boris Johnson Credit: https://imranforwakefield.org.uk/

Great Grimsby:

For the first time in 74 years the people of Grimsby are waking up with a Conservative MP. Melanie Onn, who had been the town's MP from 2015 lost the seat to Tory rival Lia Nici.

Lia Nici:Lis is the Executive Producer of Estuary TV, Grimsby’s community television company and is a former Parish Councillor in Laceby, North East Lincolnshire.

"I'll make sure we get Brexit done. Once we get Brexit done we can get on with the important things like making sure our NHS is for the future."

Lia Nici Credit: @Lia4GreatGrimsby

Don Valley:

Don Valley has been a Labour seat since 1922. Caroline Flint has served the constituency for 22 year - holding the seat since 1997. Ms Flint was beaten by Nick Fletcher who became the first Conservative MP for the Don Valley constituency.

Nick Fletcher:Nick has lived in Doncaster all of his life. He started an electrical contracting business in Doncaster back in 1994 and has recently celebrated 25 years in business.

"This is the most humbling experience and I'm honoured to be given this opportunity. Brexit is the most important issue of our time and Don Valley voted overwhelmingly to leave, and leave we must.''

Nick Fletcher

Peniston & Stocksbridge:

Miriam Cates has been elected as the MP for Penistone & Stocksbridge, beating Labour's Francyne Johnson by 7,210 votes. Angela Smith, the former Labour MP for Penistone & Stocksbridge, resigned from the party in February, helping to form Change UK.

Miriam Cates:Miriam was born and brought up in Sheffield. She trained to be a science teacher at Sheffield Hallam University and then taught Chemistry and Biology. She campaigned on a number of local issues including flood protection, planning, and education


In one of Kirklees' closest contested seats Paula Sherriff lost her seat to the Tories in Dewsbury. Mark Eastwood was elected as the Conservative representative by just over 1500 votes.

Mark Eastwood: Mark’s political priorities are "supporting businesses in the constituency to create a strong economy and more jobs for local residents, ensuring that young people are able to get on the housing ladder and delivering a Brexit that respects the vote".

Rother Valley:

Rother Valley is made up of former mining villages and has been a Labour seat since 1918. However, after 101 years that has all changed as Alexander Stafford became Rother Valley's first Conservative MP.

Alexander Stafford: Alexander currently works in the energy industry, focusing onsustainability and the future of mobility, and has previously workedfor the WWF on international environmental issues. He lives with hiswife Natalie and they are expecting their first childnext year.

"I promise as your first Conservative MP to never neglect you, to always listen to your voice and to always do what's right. You will not be ignored."

Alexander Stafford


The Conservatives have gained Keighley with candidate Robbie Moore. The seat was held by Labour's John Grogan who was defending a majority of just 249 from the last General Election.

Robbie Moore: Rob previously served on Northumberland County Council and has a business background. He is from a farming family and in 2007 set up a plastic recycling business that has now grown to consist of a national network of franchises.

"I will focus on delivering the changes and improvements needed to make life, society and social wellbeing more prosperous for all."

Robbie Moore Credit: @_RobbieMoore


The Conservative candidate has won the Ashfield seat for the first time since 1977 - a constituency long held by Labour. The seat was previously held by Gloria De Piero. Labour were knocked into third place by Ashfield Independent candidate Jason Zadrozny.

Lee Anderson:Lee was born and raised in Ashfield. 18 months ago Lee Anderson was a Labour councillor who then defected from the party. He worked at Ashfield & Broxtowe Citizens Advice Bureau for many years as well as local homeless charities before moving into politics.

Lee Anderson


The Conservative party now controls all seven of Lincolnshire's parliamentary constituencies. Karl McCartney has been elected as the MP for Lincoln, beating Labour's Karen Lee. The Conservative Party overturned a 1538 vote majority to take the formerly Labour-held seat.

Karl McCartney: As a prominent Leave Campaigner he was elected by his colleagues as a member of the Exiting the European Select Committee (known as the ‘Brexit Committee’) in 2016. He made a comeback after two years and snatched the Lincoln MP seat back from Labour’s Karen Lee.

"This was a Brexit general election. I supported the leave side and I want to see it done."

Karl McCartney Credit: https://www.karlmccartney.co.uk/about-karl


The seat of Scunthorpe has a new MP after Conservatives gained the seat from Labour. Holly Mumby-Croft has taken over from Labour's Nic Dakin, becoming the town’s first female MP. It's the first time the constituency has elected a Conservative in 32 years.

Holly Mumby-Croft:She was born in Scunthorpe and lived locally all her life. She is not a career politician and has been been a local councillor since 2010. As a councillor she backed support for Steel Works.

Holly Mumby-Croft Credit: https://www.hollymumbycroft.com/


Veteran Labour MP Dennis Skinner has lost the Bolsover seat he has held for 49 years - he had been MP for Bolsover since June 1970. If he had been re-elected, he would have been the longest serving member of the House of Commons. The 87-year-old was beaten by Conservative candidate Mark Fletcher by 5299 votes.

Mark Fletcher: Mark worked for a number of years in international trade as the Chief of Staff to the Prime Minister’s Trade Envoy to Uganda and Rwanda, before becoming the Director of Communications in the healthcare sector.

"I will do all that I can to make the people of Bolsover heard, and to deliver on their overwhelming vote to leave the European Union.”

Mark Fletcher Credit: https://www.mark-fletcher.org.uk