England's world cup winners honoured at the end of a glorious 2019

The men behind England's historic victory at the World Cup have been recognised in the New Year Honours list, with Ben Stokes, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler and Trevor Bayliss all awarded titles for services to cricket.

One-day captain Morgan, whose measured leadership of the side was a key part of their journey from also-rans to world champions, heads the list with a CBE.

Stokes is awarded an OBE after a golden summer which saw him drag his side to victory in the final at Lord's through sheer force of will, then follow up with one of the greatest Test innings of all time six weeks later during the famous Ashes win at Headingley.

Bayliss, the Australian head coach who helped Morgan revolutionise England's white-ball cricket over his four years in the job before leaving at the end of his contract in September, takes an OBE with him Down Under.

Buttler becomes an MBE, having been the man to guarantee England would lift the trophy for the first time when he gathered Jason Roy's throw and completed the match-winning run-out under extreme pressure in the World Cup final, while Joe Root gets the same accolade.

Root was England's top run-scorer at the World Cup but has also been one of the sport's most prominent ambassadors in his role at Test skipper.

Pace bowler Jofra Archer is notable by his absence and may have been a worthy addition after claiming the most wickets for England in the tournament and, crucially, bowling the decisive 'Super Over' which secured victory. He only made his international debut in May, though, and his time could come again.

Back in 2005, England's unforgettable Ashes success over a dominant Australia side saw every player earn a gong - including Paul Collingwood, who only took part in the final Test - not to mention some members of the backroom staff.

That ultimately came to be seen as excessive and this year's beneficiaries are in line with those from the England Women's side who won the World Cup at Lord's in 2017.

Back then there were five recipients - captain Heather Knight, coach Mark Robinson, player of the tournament Tammy Beaumont, player of the final Anya Shrubsole and director of women's cricket Clare Connor.

Elsewhere in the sport former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd has received a knighthood, while Colin Graves, the chairman of the England and Wales Cricket Board since 2015 and a former executive chairman of Yorkshire, has been handed a CBE.

Alan Knott, regarded as one of the game's greatest-ever wicketkeepers, can now add an MBE to his record of 95 Test caps and 1,211 first-class dismissals.