Which West Midlands MPs are standing down in the December election? Full list here

Candidates looking to stand in the election on December 12 had until 4pm yesterday (Thursday) to submit their names to the Electoral Commission.

Over 70 MPs did not send in their nomination and have said they will not contest the 2019 election - with reasons ranging from political differences to the torrent of abuse many have suffered alongside their staff and families.

Here is a list of all the MPs in the West Midlands region who are standing down:

Tom Watson Credit: PA Images

Tom Watson, West Bromwich East (Labour)

The most high-profile West Midlands MP to announce their departure from Parliament was Tom Watson, the Deputy Leader of Labour.

The MP, who served his constituency since 2001, announced his resignation on Twitter on 6th November.

In a statement he said:

Caroline Spelman Credit: PA Images

Caroline Spelman, Meriden (Conservative)

The most high-profile Conservative MP to announce their departure from Parliament was Dame Caroline Spelman.

The Meriden MP, and former Environment Secretary, said that Brexit had proved too divisive.

She blamed her departure on the torrent of abuse she received on social media, including several rape threats, and said it is one of the main reasons why several other female MPs have stood down at the election.

Ian Austin, Dudley North Central (Independent)

In a scathing resignation announcement, the former Labour MP Ian Austin said leader Jeremy Corbyn was "not fit to lead."

He previously served as Gordon Brown's press secretary and cited Labour's alleged lack of action in dealing with anti-semitism in the party as proof he was unfit to govern the country.

Andrew Griffiths Credit: Chris McAndrew / UK Parliament handout / PA

Andrew Griffiths, Burton Central (Conservative)

The 49-year-old resigned as small business minister in July last year after it was revealed he had sent more than 2,000 sexual texts to barmaid Imogen Treharne and a friend in just 21 days, including suggesting he could rent a flat where they could have sex.

The Burton and Uttoxeter Conservatives have since confirmed that Mrs Griffiths, the estranged wife of Andrew Griffiths, would be the party’s candidate for the seat.

The messaging scandal was exposed only weeks after the birth of the couple’s first child.

Paul Farrelly Credit: PA Images

Paul Farrelly, Newcastle-under-Lyme (Labour)

Newscastle-under-Lyme MP, Paul Farrelly, announced in September that he was standing down at the next election.

The staunch Remainer's winning majority has slipped away at every election he has stood in since he was elected nearly twenty years ago.

Margot James Credit: PA Images

Margot James, Stourbridge Central (Conservative)

Former culture minister Margot James – who lost the Conservative whip after rebelling over Brexit – has also announced she will not stand in December’s General Election.

The former Stourbridge Central MP was one of the 21 Tory rebels who were kicked out of the party after backing a plan to take control of the Commons timetable to pass legislation to block a no-deal Brexit.

She was reinstated to the party after a meeting with Prime Minister Boris Johnson but has since gone on to announce her resignation.

Adrian Bailey Credit: PA Images

Adrian Bailey, West Bromwich West (Labour)

Adrian Bailey announced he was standing down on December 12 because it was time for some fresh blood in the seat.

The Black Country MP won the seat in a by-election in 2000 and then went on to serve in Tony Blair’s government.

In an email to Labour party members, he said: “Whilst I am very fit both mentally and physically, a younger person, more attuned and comfortable with political campaigning in a social media age would be better placed to promote Labour’s policies and values in the next Parliament.”

Geoffrey Robinson Credit: PA Images

Geoffrey Robinson, Labour (Coventry North West)

The MP for Coventry North West since 1976, and the former owner of the New Statesman, announced he was standing down weeks before MPs voted in favour of a December election.

He previously sent a formal complaint to Labour’s general secretary about the party’s “shambolic” selection process in Coventry.

Also standing down in the West Midlands are:

  • Jim Cunningham, Labour MP for Coventry South since 1992

  • Jeremy Lefroy, Conservative MP for Stafford since 2010

Read more: