Pride of Jersey Awards celebrate extraordinary islanders

The winners of the Pride of Jersey awards have been announced.

The event celebrates the contributions of extraordinary people to their island community.

ITV Channel's very own Gary Burgess was the recipient of The Community Champion of the Year, in recognition of his journalistic work throughout the pandemic.

Last year's event had to be cancelled due to coronavirus restrictions, with many of those receiving awards recognised for their efforts during the pandemic.

Among them was Dr Ivan Muscat who was given the award for Inspirational Leader of the Year for his work in public health since the crisis started.

Nearly 37,000 votes were cast eclipsing last years total by almost 10,000 with 153 people nominated across 14 categories.

Each winner will receive a prize worth £1,000 from their award sponsor.

The winners of the 2020 Pride of Jersey awards are:

  • Ambassador of the Year - Neil MacLachlan

  • Angel of the Year - Janni Boon

  • Child of the Year - Ocean Brown, Hamish Brodie and Amelia Gent

  • Community Champion of the Year - Gary Burgess

  • Customer Service Employee of the Year - Magda Bochen

  • Diversity and Inclusion Champion of the Year - Abigail Atkinson

  • Environmentalist of the Year - Jersey Mencap

  • Grandparent of the Year - Elena Faiz

  • Inspirational Leader of the Year - Dr Ivan Muscat

  • Neighbour of the Year - Kayleigh Carson

  • Teacher of the Year - Lisa Paul

  • Volunteer/Fundraiser of the Year - Rachel Scott-Renouf

  • Young Ambassador of the Year - Luke Du Val

  • Mental Health Champion of the Year - Andy Le Seelleur

WATCH Gary's speech here...