New ITV drama tells story of Gerald Durrell's childhood

The series is based on Gerald Durrell’s classic trilogy of Corfu memoirs, including the much loved novel ‘My Family and Other Animals.’

The first episode of the 6-part series airs on ITV on Sunday 3rd of April at 8pm.

View all 10 updates ›

The Durrells are coming!

A brand new six part ITV series called 'The Durrells' will be coming to your television soon.

Set in 1935, the series is based upon Gerald Durrell’s classic trilogy of Corfu memoirs including the much loved novel ‘My Family and Other Animals’.

The story focuses upon Louisa Durrell (played by Keeley Hawes) and her four unruly children - Larry, Leslie, Margo, and the youngest, Gerry.

Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust, of which Lee Durrell is the Honorary Director, is delighted that her late husband's work is being adapted for the small screen.

I am absolutely thrilled that Gerald Durrell and his idyllic childhood in Corfu will appear on our television screens. Those sunny, magical days, when eccentric family affairs were interwoven with Gerry’s discovery of the natural world, inspired his life’s work to rescue animals from the brink of extinction. I hope that the new series will be a gentle, but timely reminder of the importance of Gerry’s work today and will inspire others to take up his cause.

– Lee Durrell

More on this story