Guernsey Election latest

Four members of Guernsey's Policy Council have fallen in last nights election.

Education Minister Robert Sillars, Environment Minister Yvonne Burford and Culture and Leisure Minister Mike O'Hara were among the losers.

View all 15 updates ›

Commerce and Employment Minister Kevin Stewart loses seat

Commerce and Employment Minister Kevin Stewart lost his seat in the St Sampson’s District, while Former Chief Minister Lyndon Trott was the surprise poll topper with 2014 votes.

It was a high turnout, with 78.22% taking to the polls, a statistic which garnered whoops and cheers in the hall where the results were declared.

Treasury Minister Gavin St Pier was re-elected, coming in fourth place with 1,543 votes and immediately re-instated his intention to stand for the top job in the new States, the President of Policy and Resources.

Newcomer Carl Meerveld received 1377 votes after what he called an ‘aggressive campaign of guerrilla marketing’ which saw his posters gain notoriety throughout the island.

Former Education Board member Jane Stephens also was re-elected to the States after missing out in the 2012 General Election.

Kevin Stewart was the most high profile casualty in the district, coming ninth in the district.

After the results were announced he told ITV News it was likely he would return to business. He added that he felt negative media coverage surrounding Condor had contributed to his failure to get re-elected.

Meanwhile parish constable Paul Le Pelley retained his seat, after serving on the Scrutiny Management Committee and completing a review of the island’s strategic air links in the current term.

Tony Webber finished bottom of the pile in St Sampson’s with 528 votes.

More on this story