Special birthday celebrations for iconic venue
Liverpool is celebrating the birthday of one of its most iconic buildings. The Cunard Building, one of the Three Graces, and the former Liverpool headquarters for Cunard, turns one hundred years old amid a weekend of special events.
On 2 July, Cunard's Queen Elizabeth will sail in to the city at around 7.15am, and will remain berthed at Liverpool's Cruise Terminal until around 10.15pm when she will depart against a backdrop of stunning fireworks.
Earlier in the day, the Lord Mayor of Liverpool, Councillor Roz Gladden will join Captain of Queen Elizabeth, Inger Klein Olsen (first ever female captain of Cunard ship) to unveil an impressive, 50 metre long stone seat which stretches the full length of the Cunard Building. The granite bench, located on the Strand side of the building, features a specially designed piece of artwork called The Journey which uses bronze illustrations and writing to chart the history of Cunard, from 1839 to the present day.
Two free concerts are then set to take place on the Pier Head in the afternoon and then once again in the evening.
Visitors are encouraged to come along and bring their flags and singing voices as they are entertained with performances from the Royal Marines Band, Liverpool Welsh Choral and opera singer Danielle Thomas who will be singing classics such as Rule Britannia and Land of Hope and Glory alongside contemporary numbers such as Proud Mary and All You Need is Love.
The first concert will take place at 2.30pm until around 3.15pm, and then will be repeated 9.30-10.15pm, finishing just before Queen Elizabeth departs.
There is also the opportunity to be one of the first visitors to the Cunard Building's brand new exhibition dedicated to The Jam. This is the first weekend About The Young Idea opens to the public and is packed full with never-before-seen archives and memorabilia. The exhibition is being described as a must-visit not only for fans of The Jam, but for music lovers everywhere.
The Cunard Building, grade II* listed, was designed by William Edward Willink and Philip Coldwell Thicknesse and was constructed between 1914 and 1917, however, it opened its doors to Cunard staff on 12 June 1916. Liverpool's celebrations are taking place on 2 July to coincide with the arrival of the Queen Elizabeth vessel.