1. ITV Report

Six North West MPs in new Labour Shadow Cabinet

Lisa Nandy and Rebecca Long-Bailey are amongst the North West MPs in the Shadow Cabinet. Credit: PA

There are six North West MPs who will be serving in the Shadow Cabinet formed by new Labour leader Sir Keir Stamer.

Amongst them are Wigan MP, Lisa Nandy, and MP for Salford & Eccles, Rebecca Long-Bailey, who both ran against Sir Keir for the leadership.

Ms Nandy was announced as the new Shadow Foreign Secretary yesterday, whilst Ms Long-Bailey has been moved from Shadow Business Secretary to Shadow Education Secretary.

The other North West MPs in the Shadow cabinet are:

  • Angela Rayner, Deputy Leader (MP for Ashton-under-Lyne)
  • Jonathan Reynolds, Shadow Work and Pensions (MP for Stalybridge & Hyde)
  • Jim McMahon, Shadow Transport (MP for Oldham West & Royton)
  • Cat Smith, Shadow Young People (MP for Lancaster & Fleetwood)

In the 2019 General Election Labour lost a large chunk of MPs in the North West as the Conservatives picked up 12 new seats in the region.