Local elections 2021: All the local election results for Merseyside

Joanne Anderson Liverpool Mayoral candidate at the count
Joanne Anderson at the Liverpool local and mayoral elections count Credit: PA

Voters across the North West have been voting in one of the biggest sets of local elections the region has ever seen.

Here's a look at the results in Merseyside so far:


Joanne Anderson has been elected the new City Mayor of Liverpool

The Labour candidate won with a majority of more than 14,000.

Turnout: 30.51%

  • Joanne Anderson, LAB - 46,493 (61.2%)

  • Stephen Yip, IND - 32,079 (38.8%)

First round results were as follows:

  • Joanne Anderson, LAB - 38,958

  • Roger Bannister, TUSC - 2,912

  • Katie Maria Burgess CON - 4,187

  • Tom Crone, GRE - 8,768

  • Richard Kemp, LD - 17,166

  • Steve Radford, LIB - 22,047

It was an election that has been mired in controversy, after a Government inspection report found the council had ‘consistently failed in its duties’ under former Labour Mayor Joe Anderson.

Joe Anderson

Joe Anderson became the city's first directly-elected mayor in May 2012 after serving as the council leader and was then re-elected to the post in 2016.

In December, inspectors were sent in by Local Government Secretary Robert Jenrick following the arrest of five men, including Mr Anderson, who was held on suspicion of conspiracy to commit bribery and witness intimidation.

Mr Anderson has insisted that the allegations are baseless and said he is suing Merseyside Police for wrongful arrest.

It follows an investigation by Merseyside Police into building and development contracts in the city.

The council's director of regeneration, Nick Kavanagh, was also arrested as part of the police probe into building and development contracts in the city, and this week it was confirmed he had been dismissed from his role at the authority.

Merseyside Police said all suspects remain under investigation but bail has not been extended.


Meanwhile, Labour's Steve Rotheram has stormed to victory and been re-elected as Metro Mayor of the Liverpool City Region.

Mr Rotheram was the first person elected to the new position after it was created in 2017 as part of a new devolution deal with Westminster that brought new powers to the region.

Today [May 8] he was comfortably re-elected for what will now be a three-year term after elections were delayed by a year because of the coronavirus pandemic.


Labour's Emily Spurrell has been comfortably elected as the new Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) for Merseyside.

Ms Spurrell, until recently a Labour Councillor in Liverpool, won the election with a huge majority on the first round of voting.


  • Kris Brown - Liberal Democrats - 51,979

  • Emily Spurrell - Labour - 178,875 (e)

  • Bob Teesdale - Conservative - 71,961

  • Malcolm James Webster, Reform UK - 11,662

The powers of Police and Crime Commissioners include:

  • Appointing the Chief Constable and holding them to account

  • Setting police priorities

  • Commissioning crime prevention schemes and victim support

  • Setting the police budget (and how much residents pay in council tax


  • Halton - LAB HOLD - Conservative lose one seat to Green.

  • Knowsley - LAB HOLD - Labour lose three seats, two to Green and one to Independent.

  • Liverpool - LAB HOLD - Labour lose three seats to Liberal Democrats.

  • Sefton - LAB HOLD - Labour gain six seats, Conservative gain two seats, Liberal Democrats lost five seats, Independent lost three seats.

  • St Helens - LAB HOLD - Labour lose three seats, Independent gain two seats, Green gain one seat.

  • Warrington - LAB HOLD

  • Wirral - NOC (no change) - Labour lose four seats, Conservative gain one seat, Green gain three seats.