St Helens make history with fourth consecutive Grand Final victory

Outgoing St Helens head coach Kristian Woolf getting a soaking in the changing room after their historic victory.

St Helens have secured their place in history and rubber-stamped their status as the most successful team in the Super League era with a fourth consecutive Grand Final triumph.

The reigning champions' 24-12 victory over Leeds in front of a 60,783 crowd at Old Trafford earned them a record ninth Grand Final win and enabled them to send Kristian Woolf out on a high as the first coach to win three successive Grand Finals.

Kristian Woolf leaves St Helens on a high Credit: PA

Saints could hardly have made a better start, with Matty Lees storming over for the first try of the game after just two minutes and 26 seconds.

In scoring so early, Saints set a new Super League record for the quickest try in a Super League Grand Final.

St Helens Matty Lees making history with his try at the Grand Final Credit: PA

Leeds, who struggled to get out of their own half, could not make anything of Blake Austin's 40-20 kick and they fell further behind on 17 minutes when full-back Bennison won the race to Welsby's grubber kick on the last tackle.

Tommy Makinson converted both tries for a 12-0 lead before putting a penalty wide but the introduction of Leeming injected urgency into the Rhinos' attack.

The final score at Old Trafford 24-12 to St Helens, which sparked wild celebrations from Saints fans and players.

In the changing room too after the match, outgoing head coach Kristian Woolf got a soaking to celebrate the historic victory.

Outgoing St Helens head coach Kristian Woolf gets a soaking Credit: PA

And on of St Helens most famous fans, the comedian Johnny Vegas, took to social media to sing his praises for Saints James Roby.

Having become the first team to win four in a row, St Helens will now set their sights on Wigan's pre-Super League record of seven successive title triumphs from 1990 to 1996 and, with the likes of impressive young guns Jack Welsby and Jon Bennison in their line-up, who is to say they cannot surpass it?