All the results and what you need to know from the North West local elections 2024

  • Professor of Politics at Liverpool University Andrew Russell and ITV Granada Reports Political Correspondent Andrew Misra discuss Friday's election results and what it could mean

Counting is underway after many cast their vote in the local elections to choose local councillors, metro mayors and police and crime commissioners.

Results show Labour gains across the region, however the party lost control of Oldham after a backlash over its stance on Gaza.

However George Galloway failed in his bid to - in his words - "wipe Labour off the council", in Rochdale, as he looked to follow up his recent by-election win.

The North West region had the highest number of local elections in England with 459 council seats at stake.

In all but two of the 22 councils where ballots are being held, a third of seats were up for election.

In Warrington and Rossendale the full council was up for election.

The interactive map below shows the current political composition of the councils with elections in 2024. Results will be populated as results are announced. If you cannot see the map on your device click here.

Here are all the results in full, or when a result is expected to be announced:

3 May

Blackpool parliamentary by-election: Chris Webb, Labour gain

Cumbria PCC: David Alleen (Labour gain)

Bolton: No overall control

Wigan: Labour hold

Chorley: Labour hold

Oldham: No overall control

Sefton: Labour hold

Tameside: Labour hold

Stockport: No overall control

Blackburn with Darwen: Labour hold

Manchester: Labour hold

Preston: Labour hold

Burnley: No overall control

Hyndburn: Labour gain

Knowsley: Labour hold

Halton: Labour hold

Rossendale: Labour hold

Rochdale: Labour hold

Trafford: Labour hold

Lancashire PCC: Clive Grunshaw (Labour gain)

Bury: Labour hold

Pendle: No overall control

West Lancashire: Conservative hold

4 May

Liverpool City Region Mayor: Steve Rotheram (Labour hold)

Cheshire PCC: 3pm

Merseyside PCC: 3.30pm

Greater Manchester Mayor: Andy Burnham (Labour hold)

Warrington: Labour hold

5 May

Salford Council + Mayor: Paul Dennett (Labour hold)