'Skyfall' wins Film of the Year at Standard awards

'Skyfall' was Daniel Craig's third Bond movie. Credit: Jens Kalaene/PA

The James Bond film 'Skyfall', directed by Sam Mendes, has been named Film of the Year at the London Evening Standard British Film Awards. The action film, which saw the death of M and the return of Miss Moneypenny, has already become the highest grossing movie at the British box office ever.

Andrea Riseborough won the Best Actress award for her role in the IRA drama 'Shadow Dancer'. While Toby Jones was named Best Actor for the film 'Berberian Sound Studio' about an Italian horror film studio.

Toby Jones won the Best Actor award. Credit: Ian West/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Here is the list of winners:

  • FILM OF THE YEAR - Skyfall

  • BEST ACTOR - Toby Jones

  • BEST ACTRESS - Andrea Riseborough

  • BEST SCREENPLAY - Malcolm Campbell (What Richard Did)

  • PETER SELLERS AWARD FOR COMEDY - Ben Wheatley (Director, Sightseers)

  • MOST PROMISING NEWCOMER - Sally El Hosaini (Writer/Director, My Brother The Devil)

  • BEST DOCUMENTARY - The Imposter

  • EDITOR'S AWARD - Sacha Baron Cohen