London's longest serving Lib Dem MP is ousted in just a handful of political changes in the capital

London's longest serving Liberal Democrat MP Tom Brake was ousted in a night which saw only a handful of changes to the political map of the capital.

Mr Brake, first elected in Carshalton & Wallington in 1997 was defeated by Conservative Elliot Colburn.

But the Lib Dems balanced their London losses by snatching Richmond Park from the Tories. Sarah Olney won the seat from Environment Minister Zac Goldsmith.

Zac Goldsmith

Labour took Putney from the Conservatives but lost Kensington.

Labour's Emma Dent Coad, who won Kensington with a majority of just 20 in 2017, was defeated by Tory Felicity Buchan.

Wandsworth councillor Fleur Anderson won Putney where previous MP Justine Greening decided not to stand.

Fleur Anderson

In the Home Counties, long-serving Tory MP Anne Main lost her St Albans seat to Lib Dem candidate Daisy Cooper.

Three high profile 'defector' candidates failed to get elected as Liberal Democrats.

Former Labour MP Chuka Umanna who was standing in the Cities of London & Westminster lost out to Tory Nickie Aiken.

Liberal Democrat candidate Luciana Berger

Luciana Berger, another ex-Labour MP, was unable to unseat Tory whip Mike Freer in Margaret Thatcher's old seat Finchley & Golders Green.

And former Conservative minister Sam Gyimah came third in Kensington.

Two rebel Tories who stood as independents after being stripped of the Conservative whip failed to recapture their former seats.

Dominic Grieve was defeated in Beaconsfield by his Tory rival Joy Morrisey.

And former Justice Secretary David Gauke lost out to Gagan Mohindra in Hertfordshire South West.