More than half of the new MPs elected to represent constituencies in London and the Home Counties are women.

Thursday’s general election marked another step towards politicians reflecting the diversity and gender balance of their communities.

Only 8 of the 23 new MPs elected in seats in and around London are men.

The Labour and Conservative parties each returned six new women MPs.

Labour’s include London Assembly member Florence Eshalomi (Vauxhall), Bell Ribeiro-Addy (Streatham), a former member of Diane Abbott’s staff and Wandsworth councillor Fleur Anderson (Putney) who delivered Labour’s only ‘gain’ of the election.

Nickie Aiken Credit: PA

Half of the Conservative’s 12 new MPs in London and the Home Counties are women.

Newcomers include Westminster Council leader Nickie Aiken (Cities of London & Westminster), former banker Claire Coutinho (Surrey East) and Ealing councillor Joy Morrisey (Beaconsfield).

Lib Dem candidate Sarah Olney (right) at St Mary's University, in Strawberry Hill, Twickenham, before winning the Richmond Park constituency Credit: PA

All three new Liberal Democrat MPs are women. Former MP Sarah Olney defeated Tory minister Zac Goldsmith to reclaim Richmond Park, Munira Wilson replaced former party leader Sir Vince Cable in Twickenham and Daisy Cooper took St Albans from the Conservatives.

Women now represent 36 of the 73 constituencies in Greater London.