Live updates

Siobhan Benita hails remarkable election result

Siobhan Benita, who ran as an independent candidate for the Mayoral elections, says the past 16 weeks "have been the best of my professional life". She added that she wants to see "a change in the broadcasting rules" and " to ensure there is an independent voice speaking up for Londoners".

"It’s a massive result for me - an independent candidate, from a standing start, to be right up there vying for third place with the Lib Dems and Greens is remarkable. Brian and Jenny have had equal billing with Boris and Ken on the TV debates, they’ve had party election broadcasts, they’ve had months of media coverage. I’ve had none of those, no party machinery and virtually no funding. My whole campaign cost around £5,000. But what I did have was lots of passion, a small team of dedicated, creative volunteers and innovative policies."

– Siobhan Benita, former Mayoral candidate


  1. Alex Forrest, Election Correspondent

Election Correspondent Alex Forrest is at City Hall

Alex Forrest writes:

While we wait here at City Hall for all the London votes to be counted, I've already seen one mayoral candidate in our press centre.

Siobhan Benita the independent is here and she seems pretty happy about how things are going.

Boris Johnson still seems to be in the lead, though according to the live count chart on Ken Livingstone does seem to be making a comeback.

Independent candidate launches mayoral campaign

Independent candidate Siobhan Benita launched her manifesto for the London mayoral elections today.

Her pledges include:

  • building 167 new primary schools by 2015.

  • appointing a Young Mayor for London and a new Youth Assembly

  • freezing fares on public transport until April 2014

  • providing free travel for jobseekers and cutting fares for low earners.

Her full manifesto can be read here.

In total, seven candidates are running in the London mayoral elections. They are:

Boris Johnson (Conservative)

Ken Livingstone (Labour)

Brian Paddick (Liberal Democrat)

Jenny Jones (Green)

Lawrence James Webb (UKIP)

Carlos Cortiglia (BNP)

Siobhan Benita (Independent)

The election is on Thursday May the 3rd and the deadline for registering to vote is tomorrow.