1. ITV Report

Final results in for Round the Island

Gosport sailor Alex Thomson and his crew head round the island Photo: ITV Meridian

The final results for this year's Isle of Wight Round the Island Race have been announced.Line honours are awarded to the first and second boats to cross the line in two classes - single hull and boats with more than one hull. First and second place overall are also awarded.

First across the line overall were Sir Ben Ainslie and crew in the J.P. Morgan BAR catamaran in a time of 2 hours, 52 minutes and 15 seconds. This took more than 15 minutes off the previous record for a multi-hulled boat, which had stood at 3 hours, 8 minutes and 29 seconds since 2001.

Second over the line was the ICAP Leopard, skippered by Mike Slade in a time of 3 hours, 43 minutes and 50 seconds. The skipper managed to better his own time by 9 minutes, 45 seconds, after he set the previous course record for a single-hulled boat in 2008.

In the multihull class, Sir Ben was first across the line, followed by amateur sailor Phil Cotton on the trimaran Buzz, in a time of 3 hours, 54 minutes and 47 seconds.

In the monohull class, Mike Slade and Leopard were first, followed by Gosport sailor Alex Thomson on Hugo Boss, in 4 hours, 12 minutes and 1 second.

On corrected time, Phil Cotton won the Grand Prix in the multihull class, half an hour ahead of Sir Ben Ainslie.

Sir Keith Mills on TP52 5 West was declared the winner of the Gold Roman Bowl in the IRC division and Peter Bainbridge's J1/22 Sky Hunter II was announced as winner of the Silver Gilt Roman Bowl for the ISCRS classes.