Who in the South East has been recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours list?

020622-Professor Saul Faust, Superintendent Simon Nelson, and MP Maria Miller
Southampton Professor Saul Faust, Sussex Police Superintendent Simon Nelson, and Basingstoke MP Maria Miller

A police superintendent, an RNLI volunteer and a professor are among those in the south east and Thames Valley to be recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours list 2022.

Professor Saul Faust, consultant paediatrician at University Hospital Southampton has been awarded an OBE for his leading role in the national COVID-19 vaccination programme.

Prof Faust said: "I am deeply humbled and grateful to be recognised in the Queen’s Jubilee Honours. Although this award is to me, I couldn’t have done any of my work during the pandemic without the amazing research teams across Southampton, Dorset, Hampshire, South Wiltshire and the Isle of Wight."

The first woman vice-chancellor of the University of Oxford has been made a dame.Louise Richardson said she was "deeply flattered" by the honour for services to higher education.

Tracey Crouch MP has been given an award. Credit: PA

MPs in the region were also recognised, including the MP for Chatham and Aylesford Tracey Crouch who receives a CBE for her work on the Independent Fan Led Review of Football Governance.

Basingstoke MP Maria Miller will become a dame for her parliamentary services.

MBEs have been awarded to RNLI volunter Guy Addington, and Ashford-based choreographer Jasmin Vardimon.

Who is on the Queen's Birthday Honours list from the South East?

The Rt. Hon. Maria Miller MP. Member of Parliament for Basingstoke. For Parliamentary and Public Service. (Basingstoke, Hampshire)

Bernadette Mary Kelly CB. Permanent Secretary, Department for Transport. For services to Government. (Midhurst, West Sussex)

Professor Louise Mary Richardson. Vice-Chancellor, Oxford University. For services to Higher Education. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)

Professor Michael James Paul Arthur. Lately Provost and President, University College London. For services to Higher Education. (Romsey, Hampshire)

Professor Peter George Bruce. Wolfson Chair, Professor of Materials, University of Oxford. For services to Science and Innovation. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)

Penelope Kamilla Ciniewicz. Director General, Customer Compliance, H. M. Revenue and Customs. For services to Public Administration. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Melissa Case. Lately Director, Family and Criminal Justice Policy, Ministry of Justice, and Chair, The Laura Case Trust.  For Public and Voluntary Service. (Tonbridge, Kent)

Tracey Elizabeth Anne Crouch MP. Member of Parliament for Chatham and Aylesford. For Parliamentary and Public Service. (Kent)

Timothy John Foy OBE. Lately Director, Home Office and Governor of Anguilla. For Public Service. (Winchester, Hampshire)

Lawrence John Haynes. Lately Chairman, Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund. For voluntary service to RAF Personnel and Veterans. (Ashford, Kent)

Dr Darren Richard Henley OBE. Chief Executive, Arts Council England. For services to the Arts. (Canterbury, Kent)

Dr Penelope Leach. Child Wellbeing Campaigner and Researcher, Association for Infant Mental Health, East Sussex. For services to Education. (Lewes, East Sussex)

G7 Taskforce, Cabinet Office. For Public Service. (Hartley Wintney, Hampshire)

Catherine Rowena Mallyon. Executive Director, Royal Shakespeare Company. For services to Theatre and to the Arts. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)

Matthew William Livingston Toombs. Director of Campaigns and Engagement, COP26, Cabinet Office. For Public Service. (Ashford, Kent)

Frances Ismay Wadsworth. Deputy Further Education Commissioner. For services to Education. (Newbury, Berkshire)

Gillian Debra Walton. Chief Executive and General Secretary, Royal College of Midwives. For services to Midwifery. (Winchester, Hampshire)

Miranda Mary Abrey. Domestic Abuse Policy Lead, Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities.  For services to Victims of Domestic Abuse. (South Harting, West Sussex)

Virginia Caroline Bennett. Senior Lawyer, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Legal Advisers, Government Legal Department. For services to Climate Change Law. (Salisbury, Wiltshire)

Luther Loide Blissett DL. Patron, Sporting Memories. For services to Association Football and to Charity. (Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire)

Professor Constantin Coussios FREng. Director, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, University of Oxford. For services to Biomedical Engineering. (Oxford, Oxfordshire)

Professor Sean Duggan. Chief Executive, Mental Health Network, NHS Confederation. For services to Public Health. (Worthing, West Sussex)

Professor Saul Nicholas Faust. Professor of Paediatric Immunology and Infectious Diseases and Director, National Institute for Health and Care Research Southampton Clinical Research Facility, University of Southampton and University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust. For services to the Covid-19 Response. (Bournemouth, Dorset)

Catherine Elizabeth Gulliver. Senior Lawyer, Department for Business, Energy, and Industrial Strategy Legal Advisers, Government Legal Department. For services to Climate Change Law. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Andrew Mark Harmer. Managing Director, Cruise Lines International Association UK and Ireland.  For services to the Maritime Sector. (Farningham, Kent)

Helen Frances Lilley. Assistant Head, Afghanistan Security Policy. For services to Defence. (Oxfordshire)

Warren Marks. Senior Principal Scientist, Applied Data Science, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory. For services to Defence and Security. (Salisbury, Wiltshire)

John George Marnock. Police Staff and Chair, National Surveillance User Group, Thames Valley Police. For services to Policing. (Thatcham, Berkshire)

Elizabeth Maudslay. Lately SEND Policy Manager, Association of Colleges. For services to Children and Young People with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities. (Uckfield, East Sussex)

Andrew Gerald Moll. Chief Inspector, Marine Accident Investigation Branch.  For services to Maritime Safety. (Southampton, Hampshire)

Mohammed Abdul Munim. For services to the British Bangladeshi Catering Industry. (Dartford, Kent)

Simon John Shepherd. Director, The Butler Trust.  For services to HM Prison and Probation Service. (Wallingford, Oxfordshire)

Isobel Townsley. Explosives Policy Lead, Home Office. For services to Public Service. (Tonbridge, Kent)

Guy William Addington. Water Safety Lead, South East and Volunteer Helm, Margate Lifeboat Station, Royal National Lifeboat Institution.  For services to Maritime Safety. (Margate, Kent)

Click here to view the full list

Where can I watch the RAF flypast over the Platinum Jubilee bank holiday

Queen returns to Windsor Castle ready to join Jubilee celebrations