HMS Dragon joins Navy fleet

The latest of the Royal Navy's powerful new Type 45 destroyers is being formally welcomed into the fleet today.

Live updates

The Navy's Type 45 destroyer fleet

HMS Dragon is the fourth of six Type 45 destroyers for the Navy.

  • The first, HMS Daring, was commissioned in July 2009
  • The fifth, HMS Defender, is to arrive in Portsmouth for the first time this summer
  • All six set to be in service by the middle of the decade


Back to top