1. ITV Report

What are the Ashes?

The Ashes Test series is made up of five cricket matches between England and Australia.

The venues this year were Trent Bridge, Lord's, Old Trafford and Durham with the Oval to host the final clash.

The contest has been played since 1882 and it remains one of the most celebrated rivalries in international sport.

It is named after a satirical obituary in The Sporting Times in 1882 after a match at the Oval in which Australia beat England in England for the first time.

It said that English cricket had died and "its body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia." Therefore, the next tour was dubbed the quest to regain the Ashes.

And it was during that tour that a small urn was presented to the England Cricket captain - the contents of which were said to be a burned bail.

Replicas are now used and the original is displayed at Marylebone Cricket Club museum in Lord's.

England currently hold the titles having beaten Australia in both 2009 and 2010/11 series in England and Australia.

More on this story