Mo Farah and Mary Keitany break records at the Great North Run

Mo Farah celebrates winning the Men's 2014 Bupa Great North Run Credit: Peter Byrne/PA Aire

Mo Farah became the first British man to win the Great North Run since 1985 by beating Kenya's Mike Kigen with a personal best time of one hour and one second.

The double Olympic gold medallist held off Kigen's challenge to win his first title on Tyneside, after finishing second last year.

Steve Kenyon was the last British winner of the men's race 29 years ago.

After the race, Mo said it felt great to have won:

"I had massive support from the crowd and I just had to dig deep.

Mo Farah

Kenya triumphed in the women's race, though; Mary Keitany equalled Paula Radcliffe's course record, to edge Britain's Gemma Steel into second place.

Mary Keitany (centre) celebrates first place in the Women's Elite race with second placed Gemma Steel (left) and third placed Tiki Gelana (right). Credit: Peter Byrne/PA Wire

British Paralympic athlete Shelly Woods was first across the finish line in the women's wheelchair event, with a time of 50 minutes, 34 seconds.

Shelly Woods following her victory in the Women's Wheelchair race Credit: Peter Byrne/PA Wire

The elite men's wheelchair race was won by Spain's Jordi Madeira in a time of 43 minutes two seconds.

He was closely followed by Carlisle's Simon Lawson, who also finished second in 2012.