1. ITV Report

Constituency Profile: Blaydon

Labour currently holds Blaydon. Photo: ITV News Tyne Tees

A safe Labour seat since before World War II, the Blaydon constituency lies on the outskirts of Gateshead borough, bordering on Northumberland and County Durham.

This was traditionally a coal mining area. The constituency takes in semi-rural communities like Crawcrook and Chopwell, as well as urban, industrial areas such as Blaydon and Stella.

Dave Anderson (Labour) won the seat in 2010. He was first elected in 2005 and is standing again.

The 2010 result:

Labour: 22,297 (49.6%)

Liberal Democrats: 13,180 (29.4%)

Conservative: 7,159 (15.9%)

BNP: 2,277 (5.1%)

Majority: 9,117 (20.30%)

The 2015 candidates:

Dave Anderson (Lab)

Mark Bell (UKIP)

Alison Griffiths (Con)

Paul McNally (Green)

Jonathan Wallace (Lib Dem)

More on this story