1. ITV Report

Constituency Profile: Easington

Labour currently holds Easington. Photo: ITV News Tyne Tees

Easington is a safe Labour seat in a former mining area. It is often characterised by its higher than average unemployment, and health problems, which are a legacy of its industrial past.

The constituency takes in villages such as Dawdon, Shotton and the coastal community of Seaham, which has seen regeneration in recent decades.

Grahame Morris (Labour) won the seat in 2010. He was first elected that year and is standing again.

The 2010 result:

Labour: 20,579 (58.9%)

Lib Dem: 5,597 (16.0%)

Conservative: 4,790 (13.7%)

BNP: 2,317 (6.6%)

UKIP: 1,631 (4.7%)

Majority: 14,982 (42.9%)

The 2015 candidates:

Jonathan Arnott (UKIP)

Steve Colborn (SPGB)

Chris Hampsheir (Con)

Susan McDonnell (North East Party)

Grahame Morris (Labour)

Martin Warin (Green)

Luke Armstrong (Liberal Democrats)

More on this story